Thinking of getting a new Captivate, have a few questions

Last Updated:

1. Altair4

Altair4 Member This Topic's Starter

Hi all, I'm thinking of upgrading to the Samsung Captivate to replace my ancient phone. I have Verizon right now and am thinking of getting a new AT&T plan along with the phone. I'm a newbie to android and this will be my first android device.

So my questions are:
    Is the release date for the 2.2 Froyo upgrade known for the Captivate?

And this isn't really a Captivate question, but I've seen a lot of negativity towards AT&T on this forum and in general, so do you think I should switch to AT&T from Verizon? (I'm thinking of doing it for the free phone deal and generally cheaper plans) Is there anything I should watch out for?

Thanks, answers are appreciated.

Advertisement
  2. svnty6rs3

svnty6rs3 Member

Hey it was announced by samsung that froyo would be available in september along with the gps fix that they are currently working on.

As far as att from verizon it depends on the area that you live you there are some sites you can check out for coverage area to see if you would be fine with where your located.

3. cabsnow

cabsnow Member

AT&T is fine in most areas so really just depends on your area the net speeds are better then Verizon in my area at least. Which is super important to me. Froyo is sometime in Sept. but no solid date or really and proof it's in the works for US. But it will for sure be coming to the Galaxy S line so no worries there.

4. Altair4

Altair4 Member This Topic's Starter

Thanks for the quick replies guys, I live on Long Island so coverage shouldn't be a problem. And also another question: will upgrading to Froyo let me keep my current apps and settings? I've read that AT&T disabled sideloading and censored some market apps; will upgrading fix this or do I have to root after upgrading to Froyo?

Thanks again.

5. BigCiX

BigCiX Well-Known Member