This freaking update... Gps not workung now...General


Last Updated:

  1. nickpapagiorgio

    nickpapagiorgio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone else have GPS issues after this stupid update? I think they cause more issues than they fixed with this damn update.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mimmic

    mimmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well. I haven't been having issues until 2 days ago. The update was on the 11th wasn't it? So..I've been problem free for about 3 weeks.

    However, I've started to notice that my GPS works when I'm in google maps etc. However, my HTC Weather widget is completely wrong on my location. It's usually a few hundred miles off. I can go into google maps, confirm it recieves my correct location. When I go back to the weather widget though it doesn't refresh to my correct location, still shows my incorrect one that it got from who knows where (I've never been to any of the places it has listed me).

    It does eventually fix itself but it could be immediately or an hour or so.
     
  3. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    OP, could you mean after the brand NEW update today, or the December 11th one?
     
  4. mimmic

    mimmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's a new update today? I don't have one listed yet... And I thought the next scheduled update was on Jan 22nd.
     
  5. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    It wasn't officially released. It was leaked.
     
  6. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    No update here.... is there a link?
     
  7. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
  9. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'd just wait for the OTA update.. this time it seems to have not fixed a damn thing. I updated my Eris a few hours ago.
     
  10. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    LOL, I still haven't gotten HTC Sync installed on my computer so I couldn't if I wanted to.
     
  11. nickpapagiorgio

    nickpapagiorgio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was referring to the Dec 11th update... ever since I've had nothing but issues... GPS, no more YouTube, etc.
     
  12. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    You JUST NOW got this update? GPS works fine for me but YouTube does not.
    EDIT: OMG YouTube works again after you update using the RUU I posted a little further up.
     
  13. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sorry to divert the thread, but where did you guys learn about this leaked update, and what does it supposedly do?

    Thanks.
    Doc
     
  14. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's a bugfix update, basically the only thing I'VE noticed it does, at the moment, is somehow fix the issue with YouTube never working.
     
  15. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks, where did you hear about it? I haven't seen anything on this site about it until now...
     
  16. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Xda.
     
  17. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks!
     
  18. Benrx

    Benrx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have a gps issue and thought I would ask it here since we are on the subject. When I start an App called Aloqua, it uses GPS to find local things of interest. It turns on my gps and the icon shows in the notification bar. When I turn Aloqua off, the icon still shows. When I go into settings and turn off the GPS, this icon still shows in the notification bar. The only way to get it to go away is to restart the phone. Its an animated icon that looks like a satellite.

    I'm thinking a couple things. The notification thing is broken and it was never on to begin with and the phone was finding my location through Wi-Fi or something, or gps was turned off, but the icon didn't get turned off.

    Any ideas or anyone having any similar issues?

    The App is awesome BTW.

    Thanks!
     
  19. phildroid

    phildroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    @benrx. I have the exact same problem. Any ideas?
     
  20. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    This sounds like an app problem, not a phone or GPS problem. I'd suggest you email the developer to see what can be done about the left over icon.
     
  21. nickpapagiorgio

    nickpapagiorgio Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I got the update back when everyone else did... As I've used my phone, I've noticed more and more things that no longer work.

    Another really annoying thing that happened as soon as I updated is my phone will sometimes take forever to load the home screen after coming out of sleep. I'll hit the end key and the screen will come on with the HTC logo (like in your avatar). That will appear for like 30 seconds, then I get my background with the loading icon for like another 30 seconds. Finally, after a minute or more, my phone is finally ready. It's really annoying. And it happens randomly. Sometimes my phone will be working perfectly, I'll turn it off (put it in sleep) and immediately turn it back on again and it has to go through the whole HTC screen, then the loading screen, etc.
     
  22. CKinsey

    CKinsey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the GPS problem, I did a soft reset and that seemed to fix the problem for me.
     
  23. Mortgage_It

    Mortgage_It Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    i always forget. what is a soft reset again? thanks.
     
  24. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41

    See my post in the other thread. You have something that's interfering with the way Sense is running. Try un- loading apps, especially ones that control programs, and see what happens.
     
  25. CKinsey

    CKinsey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    At your home screen press and hold the bottom right button (red) until a menu comes up, choose the turn phone off, then after it turns off, press the same button to turn back on. Worked for me. Hope it works for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...