This is 5MP?


Last Updated:

  1. e39e60

    e39e60 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think at some point I'll get a photo printed at a lab but either I'm missing a step or something's fishy with 5MP.

    The files I'm seeing are around 1MB. Heck, 1MB is smaller than what I'd get on a 4MB SLR. I know a lot less is being captured but still it seems not right.

    Can others check file size?

    And please please add a way for us to change ISO. How can they have white bal but not ISO?
     

    Advertisement
  2. iridris

    iridris Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. joneee

    joneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't get confused by the MB of the picture and the megapixels.
    The thing that makes the MB go higher is the color and sharpness. If the picture isn't very sharp, it's not going to take a lot of space.
     
  4. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Your DSLR is probably saving in RAW format, there's no compression with that format.
     
  5. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, with jpg you have compression so your pictures won't be that big. When you shoot with the SLR you are using RAW which is uncompressed.
     
  6. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    An SLR would shoot film ;)
    But a DSLR may or may not be shooting in RAW. Many default to jpeg or raw/jpeg and have to be switched.
     
  7. stanrc

    stanrc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silly me, forgot a letter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...