This noob just loaded 2.1d...thanks to Kcarpenter Senior editor at XDA Forums


Last Updated:

  1. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am going to post detailed instructions off of the thread I had going. Took less than 30 minutes (actually longer going back and forth asking questions) and I have to say.....IT IS AWESOME. If your worried about ruining your phone, follow the instructions I will be posting and you WILL NOT go wrong.

    I had a fear of doing this but a few margarita's later I am running this ROM and loving it....I mean loving it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks to Kcarpenter over at XDA forums. This guy was really helpful and was patient even for a novice like me.... Thanks BRO!!!!


    ************These steps are ONLY if you have rooted your CDMA Hero***************

    Alright here we go for those that want to do this but do not want to search and search for the steps through hundreds of threads. These were the steps I did based on the thread I posted here. Noob trying to flash to 2.1d - xda-developers If anyone has any questions or comments or changes please let me know. I just want to help out those who felt the same as me with regards to this. :)





    1. Download the file, recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img

    ****There is an update to this IMG. 1.6.2 is the newest version with bug fixes. I actually did 1.5.2 first then did the newest on mine. You can get it here. recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2.img

    2. Copy this file to the root of your SDCARD. Do not put it in any directory. You can just right click the drive letter corresponding to your SDCARD and select paste.

    3. Download the zip file, Fresh 2.1d

    4. Copy this file to the root of your SDCARD. Same process as STEP 2.

    5. Unmount your CDMA Hero ( Sprint ) and unplug the USB cable.

    6. Plug the phone into USB, DON'T MOUNT THE USB DRIVE!!!

    7. Open up CMD prompt

    8. Type:
    Code (Text):
    1. cd C:\AndroidSDK\tools
    or where ever your SDK was installed to

    9. Type:
    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    <enter>

    10. Type
    Code (Text):
    1. su
    <enter>

    11. Type
    Code (Text):
    1. cd /sdcard/
    <enter>

    12. Type
    Code (Text):
    1. flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
    <enter>

    FLASHING TO THE RECOVERY TAKES SEVERAL SECONDS-- BE PATIENT. ENTER THE NEXT COMMAND ONLY AFTER THE COMMAND PROMPT RETURNS TO THE # (ROOT SYMBOL).

    13. Type:
    Code (Text):
    1. reboot recovery
    <enter>

    Congrats. You have now flashed the recovery and are ready to do a NANDROID backup.

    14. The screen that follows is this.

    Code (Text):
    1. -reboot system now
    2. -USB-MS toggle
    3. -Backup/restore
    4. -Flash zip from Sd card
    5. -wipe
    6. -partition sdcard
    7. -other
    8.  
    15. At this point you want to select "Backup/Restore"

    Once the backup is complete, reboot and mount your Hero and navigate to the SDCARD and copy the NANDROID directory somewhere on your computer so if you have to restore you have a copy other than that of the SDCARD.

    16. Unmount your HERO and power it off

    17. Power the phone back on whilst holding the home key. When you feel the vibration (let your girl hold it if she wants ROFL - Kcarpenter wrote this.) let go and it will boot into recovery

    18. Go to Wipe and do Factory Reset

    19. Wipe dalvik

    20. Wipe everything except for SDCARD EXT.

    21. Go back to Flash Update from SDcard.

    22. Select the updated file ( fresh-cdma-hero-2.0d.zip ) and hit the home key to flash it. The phone SHOULD install and go back to the main screen of recovery.

    23. Select Reboot

    24. Wait a long time 10+ minutes is NOT uncommon (it has to rebuild dalvik and other stuff)

    25. When the phone boots hit "Always Allow" for the memory settings app.

    26. Setup your Google info and enjoy away.
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Thanks for sharing. You know there is an entire sticky that walks you through everything you did right :) ?
     
  4. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I apologize. I had no idea and when I attempted to follow things posted here it was quite hard to follow. I figured laying everything out in "ejpyle terminology" would shed some light on those that were having the same issue I was with regards to accomplishing the task.

    Now if you would excuse me... the MAVS lost (again) and I have to commence my alcohol intake to reach the drunken stupor I am trying to achieve. :)
     
  5. shiner-bock-beer

    shiner-bock-beer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    16
    Is this for CDMA or GSM phones?
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  7. Nevis

    Nevis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    38
    This is great. Thanks! I wonder, is there a wiki somewhere with all of this type of information? Seems like that would be a good way to keep information up to date rather than having to pour through tons of forum posts.

    This may be a dumb question, but in order to restore the backup is it safe to assume that you go to the same Backup/Restore menu?
     
  8. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    yep.. to restore you go into the same menu
     
  9. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
  10. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
  11. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
  12. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    do i have it
    firmware version 2.1update1
    baseband version 2.42.00.03.10

    software version2.20.651.1
     
  13. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    do you have RA 1.6.2? no idea. power off phone. hold home button and press and release the power button. when the phone gets to a green and black menu release the home button. it should tell you the RA version

    that is of course unless you simply used the 2.1 RUU.. if so, then you're partially rooted
     
  14. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    it probable wasn't right I'm just going to try again.
    how do i extract this to the c dr. i have it dl to the destop unopen
    Extract the Android SDK .Zip file to C:\AndroidSDK (this should name the new folder created AndroidSDK in the C directory.
     
  15. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    If you are starting from scratch, with a non-rooted (Stock) phone, I highly suggest you read though the sticky at the top of the forum. It literally walks you through step by step on what to do. Here is the link:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/38911-guide-root-rom-faq-tutorial.html
     
  16. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    man!! i had it installed with been rooted. but the update failed:mad: do i have to go back and root it again since i had to do a factory reset. :confused: one other thing. every time i plug in the phone i dont get the opiton to mount the card it gives debugging connected. charge only from usb i dont know were i change that. do you how to get it back.
     
  17. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    which update failed?
    as far mounting the SD card.. if you pull down the notification bar, and tap on charge only, it will give you other options. one is disk drive. that is the same as mounting. to unmount, change it back to charge only.
     
  18. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok that work thanks not the same as before oh well.:)
    this is a sprint hero as you know do i hold dw the power and home to get in the setup
     
  19. T Mac

    T Mac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    89
    turn the phone off. then hold the home key and hit the power button for one second. hold the home key until the setup screen appears. then follow the steps for whatever it is your needing to do from that point.
     
  20. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    i keep getting an error updated failed.:confused: this is what's on the card i think its the zip folder.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm also stuck on this last part
     

    Attached Files:

  22. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh boy :eek: my CMD came up went though a series prompts don't know what it was. i don't know whats on this ph. anymore.
    i didn't see any form of a RA 1.6.2 any were.
    this is what on the ph
    firmware 2.1updated 1
    base band 2.2.00.03.0
    kernel 2.6.29-d30020a8
    build 2.20.651.1 cl157175
    software 2.20.651.1
    if that's not it I'm just going to wait.:eek: i have so much crap on my desktop i don't know what good and whats not.:eek:
     
  23. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
  24. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    If you have 2.1 showing up as firmware, and the builds and everything else you show there, I'm beginning to think that you loaded the 2.1 RUU Leak. If that is the case, you need to discuss it here:

    http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc-hero/61828-leak-pre-2-1-a.html

    There is no way you are running 2.1 on a Sprint CDMA Hero without either Flashing a 2.1 ROM or running the 2.1 RUU Leak.

    Remind us again (or at least me), exactly what it is you are trying to do please :)

    **Edit**
    I looked at your pics and it looks like you are trying to use pre-kitchen with a TON of errors. What are you attempting here?
     
  25. ep8703

    ep8703 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    well i was trying to flash 2.1 and it looks like it's there so I'm going to go with what i have. like the last part of mu post I didn't know were i was in terms of getting it on the phone. sorry for all the confusion. i did get get screen you showned in your link so I guess I good.:rolleyes: so can i delete all this junk the 12 items list of things.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...