Thoughts...


Last Updated:

  1. trav2001

    trav2001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ok, So I got the MT3GS a few days ago. I had lost all hope in Google and the Android platform (Although I was using a BH2, so that really wasn't a fair comparison). I love the keyboard and the heaviness of the phone. Yes the weight to me is nice. The HTC Sense system is frickin awesome! I love it, LOVE IT!

    My only issue right now, is that I can't seem to get custom ringtones for each contact or change my main ringtone...

    Under contacts I can go the slot where it says ringtone and all I get is the default tones, can't put my own mp3's (or at least can't find them).

    Also the same is for the main ringer. I go to Menu then Settings, and to Sound, when I get to the spot where I can pick my own ringtone all I get is the default ringers again. I downloaded a file manager app to see if I could access my SD card and change ringtones that way, but not able to do that either.

    Any insight from my fellow people that use the MT3GS??????
     

    Advertisement
  2. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    Install Rings Extended from the Market to use your own MP3s as ringtones.

    To assign contacts unique ringtones, your contacts need to be "phone" contacts. Alternatively, you can use Ringlert or Zedge from the Market to help assign ringtones to your google-sync'd contacts.
     
  3. trav2001

    trav2001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    25
    Is there a way to get all the google contacts to become "phone" contacts without manually re-entering everything?
     
  4. macavely

    macavely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    13
    sync your contacts.. you might end up with 2 and 3 contacts for the same number.. Then you would just have to link them from the contact profile..
     
  5. trav2001

    trav2001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ok, hold on, I'm lost. Sync my contacts with what? Google or T-Mobile? Link????? Huh? lol lol

    Sorry This is VERY new to me. I'm used the old Behold II and it wasn't nearly this sophisticated.

    UPDATE:

    Ok, So here is what I did. On T-Mobile's website I imported a csv file of my contacts from Google and then synced. Now I have duplicates of all my contacts.

    I've played with both contacts and neither let's me set a ringtone for them. HOWEVER, downloading the app Rings Extended that Booklover mentioned I am able to set up custom ring tones as macavely said, by syncing my Google with T-mobile and then linking them.

    So I think I've found my answer! The only one I still can't change the message tone on is my email. It gets the same tone as my SMS.
     
  6. arcybarrios

    arcybarrios Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    trav if you go into your SD card you should have a folder called "ringtones." You can transfer/save any ringtones you might have saved from previous phones or created into this folder. You can then go to your contacts and edit their ringtones and yours as well.

    DO NOT change the name of the folder or your phone will not locate these (don't know if you knew that already, you probably did)

    Do you use Outlook at all? Because that is all I use, I downloaded the HTC sync program and was able to sync all of my contacts to my phone and have not had any issues assigning individual ringtones.

    Hope this helps a little :)
     
  7. Iliketrains

    Iliketrains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think your Google contacts automatically sync, but their not displayed by default, unless you disabled Sync. But even then, I think that you can Sync your Google contacts somewhere in the settings. Sorry if I couldn't help, I haven' t been on Stock in a few months :eek:
     
  8. trav2001

    trav2001 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes, These are the exact steps I've followed before and know about and I'm still not able to pick a ringtone for the mail app. Only the Gmail app. No big deal. I'm just gonna deal with it the way it is for now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...