Three more sub-Homescreens on my Hero!!! YEP, count-um TEN Homescreens!


Last Updated:

  1. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    Do you want an additional 'THREE' customizable homescreens on your Hero that stay static between all of the Hero's different scenes? Well, there's a native 'app' for that! HA!

    Using an application called 'Anycut' or 'Bar Control', I setup a shortcut to launch the native Android 'Home' application which, if you ask me, 'extends' the Hero with an additional three homescreens without swapping scenes. I simply launch the original Android Home app which gives me access to three more homescreens. AND, a simple tap of the Home button takes me back to HTC Sense.

    So, I now have TEN (10) homescreens!!!!! That's seven in the active Hero scene, and three static homescreens that never change between Hero scenes. These additional native Android homescreens are where I put some Android widgets (non HTC Sense widgets of course) and some native Android Folders and Apps Organizer's folders. And get this, the two Sprint widgets, NFL Mobile Live and Sprint TV, are available too! I have also noticed that some Market application widgets, like Express News, run better on the native Android Home app then it does on HTC Sense. The Hero uses the same Wallpaper for both HTC Sense and Home, but it unlocks the native Android wallpaper gallery too.

    Steps I did:
    1. Downloaded Anycut and/or Bar Control from the Market.
    2. Launched it waited for it to scan all the programs.
    3. Scrolled down to the app called, 'Home' and selected it.
    4. Finished the setup of the shortcut.
    Simply hit the Home button to return to HTC Sense.

    I found Anycut in the Market! However, Bar Control's shortcut stays static on the notification bar between all of the Hero scenes while you have to create an Anycut shortcut for each Hero scene.

    So, I believe this is the GREATEST HERO TRICK so far!
     

    Advertisement
  2. seabreeze

    seabreeze Guest

    I guess that is ok, except I use Scenes, so if you want to count the screens like that and say you have '10' , then I have '28'.
     
  3. dannzeman

    dannzeman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, its pretty cool, but root is nice too. ;)
     
  4. gnarlyDUCK

    gnarlyDUCK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    After being on this forum for a few weeks, looks like most people barely have more than 3 screens to save on battery life.
     
  5. dannzeman

    dannzeman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How does only having 3 screens save on battery life?
     
  6. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    5,032
    Maybe I have been out of school for a while now, but doesn't the Hero have 7 screens and 6 scenes making that a total of 42 in total?

    TS out (getting a calculator)
     
  7. Thorin10

    Thorin10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's a nice little shortcut! I like the scenes, but this is simpler and quicker!
     
  8. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    you don't have to download anything to do this.

    from the home screen click menu>settings>applications>manage applications>HTC Sense>Clear Defaults

    This will now allow you to switch back and forth from SenseUI and Android default by pressing the home button
     

Share This Page

Loading...