Three Uk disabling mobile internet use


Last Updated:

  1. adesweb

    adesweb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    This might be the wrong forum for this kind of topic, but thught I'd see if anyone else was having issues.

    I upgraded my phone to HTC Desire (my first 'smartphone') through Three UK whom I have been with for several years. After just 10 mins going through the setup (synching with Facebook/Twitter), I get a message from Three telling me I'm approaching data limit. 10 mins later I get one telling me I have reached.

    So I phone Three. They say it is probably sent in error and I should continue using them and phone back in the case the Internet stops working.

    So this morning, I download a few apps, nothing too heavy, and after an hour the phone stops connecting to the mobile internet. I phone Three and am told that as I upgraded, my new price plan does not take into effect until 4 June (4 weeks away) and my old Internet add-on (1Gb) has been removed, and the new one (Unlimited (fair use of 500Mb)) will not take effect until the 4 June, so I should not use the Internet services until then, and if I do, then it will be large charges.

    This seems incredibly bad service to sell someone a phone, then not allow them to get the best out of it (except through Wi-Fi) for a whole month,

    At the moment I can't access the internet at all through 3G so looks like my phone's access has been completley blocked.

    Anyone else had similar issues?

    Adrian
     

    Advertisement
  2. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    135
    Leave 3. They are shite.
     
  3. G3SNA

    G3SNA Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    I like 3. The coverage in my area around Manchester is great. I had a 1 month contract which gave 300 mins + Internet Max. When I got the Desire the guy in the shop set things up so that I could use the SIM in my new phone for 30 days and then it is supposed to switch to PAYG for a day. I then insert the new SIM and they transfer the number from my old SIM. So far it is working fine - I keep checking usage and no problems. How well the transfer goes on 24 May remains to be seen. But generally I remain more than happy with 3.
    Stuart
     
  4. justinbrett1975

    justinbrett1975 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Call up Three, ask to speak to a customer services manager. Tell them your anger and tell them that if they don't fix the problem today you will use your option of the 28 day cooling off period of your contract and end it. As a gensture of good will they should sort the problem out by putting some add on to your account.
     
  5. adesweb

    adesweb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried to go back into my settings and turn on the mobile internet and it now works. Checking the three account screen on the web suggests I haven't gone over my data limit, so will monitor closely! Perhaps not going for a full on Spotify or Google Maps use just yet until I'm sure I'm not going to be stinged with huge bills, but certainly will try and phone them and moan if it keeps happening. Seems some networks are not overly keen on supporting even modest data requirements for the phones they sell.
     
  6. nicnoc

    nicnoc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem last year when I upgraded to the old blackberry bold. I got the warning message and phoned 3 and got the same response as yourself - apparently i would be waiting for 3 weeks until my new billing cycle.
    I phoned again and argued that as i was using a blackberry (which only functions as it should with a constant data stream) I would accrue around
     
  7. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    If 3 have told you you don't have any data allowance I would be very careful as I seem to remember 3 charge something daft like
     
  8. bigfod

    bigfod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just passing through - I've got a nexus one on three and have managed to use 3gb in a month and got cut off for the last 5 days of the month. Be careful!
     
  9. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    135
    vodafone don't have a clue if you go over the limit of their fair usage policy lol! They told me this themselves.....clearly I had to test it. With success!

    I go back to my previous post - 3 are shite. I was with them for 8 yrs and left after endless appalling customer service issues - such as this. If they sell you a internet heavy phone they should support it by providing the data usage immediately.

    Try explaining anything to the Indian call center is like talking to a wall. I complained (about a separate issue) and asked for their executive officers address in Scotland and they denied it existed! I eventually got that particular problem resolved through their executive office (in Scotland - funnily enough). I cannot stick faceless companies that lie to you. That was the final straw....don't even ask what happened when it came to disconnection!

    I know none of them are perfect but 3 take the biscuit.
     
  10. MDKtm

    MDKtm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am with Virgin and get a 1GB data limit per month which seems to be serving me quite well...

    Although, Virgin are keeping very quiet about the fact that they don't support you sending email from the handset. Yes, in 2010 on such an advanced phone they are selling... you. can't. send. email...
     
  11. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    Well actually t-mobile also say you can't use the internet for instant messaging either.
    Obviously I wouldn't ignore a ridiculous restriction like that.. :rolleyes:
     
  12. JamesFoster

    JamesFoster Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    8
    That is a hell of a lot. I did use about 4GB one month when I would use catchuptv via safari on my iPhone. But most months I used 100MB or so. If I didn't already have almost every CD I have wanted I would use the AmazonMP3 app. Each album will be between 100MB and 150MB at 256kb/s. Exile on Main St. would be a monster. My Desire is due to be delivered on Friday. I could imagine using YouTube alot more on that really colourful 800x480 OLED screen.
    I understand that three have cut the cap in half from 1GB/month. O2 have been offering 3GB/month for 2 years or whatever. But I gave my 30 days notice to O2 today and will be on Three soon.
     
  13. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172

Share This Page

Loading...