Tikl Touch to Talk (walkie talkie app)


Last Updated:

  1. ruinsatiable2

    ruinsatiable2 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is the Tikl Touch to Talk app compatible with the Samsung Moment? If so, where can I go to download the free version?
     

    Advertisement
    smoses1990 likes this.
  2. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. slu

    slu New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tikl Touch to Talk currently requires android 1.6 or higher (as of 5/18). That may be why your samsung moment can't find it in android market because it is still running android 1.5. But I am sure they are expanding it to 1.5. Why don't you post a question on their facebook wall. TiKL - Touch To Talk | Facebook will take you there.
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,847
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    samsung moment has 2.1 available now. download it and install. worlds better.
     
  5. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    243
    I also don't find it on the Market running Android 2.1
     
  6. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    Latest update adds 1.5 compatibility. All my friends and my wife have uninstalled it because it doesn't have a DnD feature, or they are tired of me bugging them... :)
     
  7. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    this app is driving me crazy, i ALWAYS get a network unavailable message everytime i try to use it!
     
  8. jmwood

    jmwood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
    This app rocks on the verizon network! Look Out NEXTEL...:D
     
  9. armshouse

    armshouse New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It keeps coming up with error connecting to network.

    I think it's something to do with my sim card having no telephone number attached to it (like it says on the start screen go to settings -> about phone -> status and you will see my phone number).

    I think this is a problem with Vodafone as it shows perfectly on Orange network. I have spoken to customer services who said there is nothing they can do about it. Am i the only one with this issue?
     
  10. Joewoowoo

    Joewoowoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    7
    Love this app. so far its been flawless !
     
  11. newyorkgreg

    newyorkgreg Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    How does this app work?
     
  12. georgiasuzy

    georgiasuzy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the "network unavailable" message every time too, haven't gotten it to work once. Read all the FAQs and waiting for a response on its facebook page.
     
  13. antdizzo

    antdizzo New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    im running froyo on a nexus one and i cant find this on the market, my brother sent me a link in a text to it and still didnt show up, i even scanned the qr code and nothing.. whats goin on?
     
  14. Dagosty

    Dagosty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an setting called "Use Cellular Network" if you turn it off Tikl will use Wifi instead. But it appears that it wont work until I kill the app and restart. Is that the only way to make wifi work...seems to be the same with other programs as well. If wifi is turned on once an app is launched you have to kill it and restart it for wifi to work. Is this correct?
     
  15. Mistawho

    Mistawho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I totally love this app. All my roommates and I use this app. When i introduced them to this app, they all started loving the HTC EVO 4g even more!
     
  16. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does this work on the incredible? I tried their instructions and don't get anything to work.
     
  17. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nevermind...the other phones media volume was all the way down, so we weren't hearing anything haha.
     
  18. markketch

    markketch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    192
    Yes, it works on the Incredible.

    This is a great app if you're communicating with someone who doesn't have service. For example, my GF lives in a dead zone, so she doesn't carry a signal. However, with Tikl we're able to chirp one another (as long as WiFi is enabled). Very handy.
     
  19. Iforgit

    Iforgit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just downloaded and this is an awesome app. My plans were to have my parents use this to communicate when they go to Europe. Works amazing on first tries in airplane mode with only wifi. So I restarted phone to see if you needed app open to contact someone or if it opened itself or what.

    Here's the problem. I have the samsung moment and in the phone settings - about phone - phone number, it shows "unavailable" until the phone reaches the cell network. So even though this will work in another country in airplane mode on only wifi. It will fail to work because the phone doesn't store the phone number in the phone all the time, and the app needs access to that number to work correctly.

    I posted my question on the facebook page, but I'm coming here because there's a lot of smart people as well. I don't know if other phones store the number in a similar way, but if they do this would be a huge upside to the app that doesn't quite work.
     
  20. steelersmb

    steelersmb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    14
    I have an EVO and this app crashes every time I click on contacts to add a contact. I don't know why, maybe I have too many contacts on my phone or something.
     
  21. DroidPower

    DroidPower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    13
    does anyone know how to delete a contact from their favorite list in the App, i store a favorite but can't find how to delete the contact.
     
  22. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    uninstall and reinstall is the only thing i found
     
  23. DroidPower

    DroidPower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    13

    Yeah... that seemed to be my last option which leaves me to just leave the contact in my favorite list. I thought it was me and might of been missing something. thanks

    kind of strange not to have a deleted option though
     
  24. MysteryloverAnne

    MysteryloverAnne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH and I tried this and found it worked only fifty percent of the time. Uninstalled, not worth it for us. :(
     
  25. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    no problem, dont be afraid to hit the thanks button for me then! :D

    i had issues at first, emailed the dev and he was having problems. It's worked fine whenever i've used it the last few months now
     

Share This Page

Loading...