Time clock

1. untermensch

untermensch Member

I'm a carpenter by trade, and would love a time clock to keep track
    of my hours, I envision a desktop widget with 3 buttons.

a green button for start time, pressing the green button would log date and time it was pushed and note that I'm on the clock.

a red button would do the same thing as the green button but note that I'm now off the clock.

and then a view button that would allow me the edit the time entries (when I forget to log my start/stop time) select which days to include in the pay period, total the hours and send the info to a contact via SMS or
    email.

the hours should be calculated to the nearest 1/4 hour and the total
    should be calculated like 40.50, 40.25, 40.75 hours, instead of 40:30
    40:15, 40:45.

Thanks for considering writing this app.

Advertisement
    :
  2. polyclef

polyclef Active Member

I'm currently working on a very similar app to log billable hours. You hit the start button and it starts logging your time. If you want, you can specify a name for the job/client and an hourly rate. You can close the app and return to it whenever you want. When you hit stop, it calculates your hours (in the format you noted) and multiplies them by the hourly rate (if any). You can then email the summary information to whoever you want (client/yourself).

I'll post a notice here when it's available on the market.
  3. MikeAshelby

MikeAshelby Member

Let me add a seconder to this one! I'm self employed, and find it really hard to keep track of hours worked!

Also, I'm new here, so let me know if any of the below is out of line, or too much information - but here are my thoughts on the matter!

To be honest, in my simple vision I'd wondered about something as simple as a widget that was in itself a button - clicking it toggled between work time and non work time.