time limit on movie playback?Support


Last Updated:

  1. spro

    spro Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    so it took all day but i finally took 1080p avatar and converted it to mp4 to play on my dx. i transferred the mp4 to my sdcard and started to play. plays better than perfect until i started skipping around the movie and noticed when it gets past a certain time (1:40:50) i think it is it stops playing and cant go past. i try the file thats on my laptop and theres no problem with that.

    i tried downloading other movie players but they cant even play the file at all.
    anyone got any ideas?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. OrderFromChaos

    OrderFromChaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    23
    What is the file size? I've seen it stated that files over 2GB can cause problems, not sure if this is true as I haven't tried it.
     
  3. spro

    spro Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.49 gb
     
  4. OrderFromChaos

    OrderFromChaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    23
    Damn, nevermind. :)

    The only issue I've seen with movies is that depending on which app I use to play them the audio might be out of sync. I haven't seen any case where the movie stops playing across multiple apps.
     
  5. spro

    spro Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wonder what it could be then. its always at the same point in the movie where it stops, and if i restart it i cant skip thru the point of where it stops.
     
  6. OrderFromChaos

    OrderFromChaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    23
    It sucks, but have you tried to encode the movie again? I did that with the ones that had the audio out of sync when playing in the some of the players and the new encoded files don't have that issue.
     
  7. spro

    spro Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i just started to convert it again with diffrent resolution.
    whats the best setting for optimal playback?

    i just deleted the movie off my sd card and uploaded it again and it worked. i did it a few time already but it just worked the last time i did it.
    i also had two episodes of the office that i deleted the time it worked

    movies looks awesome with 960x480 res.
    x264 video codec (mp4), 24 fps,
     
  8. OrderFromChaos

    OrderFromChaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    23
    These threads have a lot of detail as to what different people use for their resolution:
    http://androidforums.com/support-tr...147700-how-convert-my-dvds-watch-droid-x.html
    http://androidforums.com/how-tips/14610-put-videos-droid-2.html

    Personally, I use Handbrake with the "Keep aspect ratio" set and specify the height to be 480. Usually the width comes out around 720, since Handbrake doesn't like to go above the source resolution. The video player of the DX takes care of display the movie on the full screen, though typically there are small bars on the sides.

    My specs:
    Keep aspect ratio
    Auto crop
    Width: 480
    Anamorphic: None
    h.264 bitrate 1500kbps
    AAC audio 160 kbps stereo
     
  9. ur_daddy

    ur_daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have almost exactly the same problem as this, but can't get it fixed.

    My mp4's used to play all the way through on my phone, now at 77:34 the video plays normally, but the audio plays at the real time minus 77:34.

    The specifics: I'm running a rooted cyogenmod 2.2 on my hero. This glitch happens with all videos. I've tried reloading mp4's. I've tried multiple video players. I've tried using different SD cards. Rebooting.

    I've googled the crap out of this in hopes of finding an answer, but I've come up with squat. This is the only post that matches my problem.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  10. HankAtrix

    HankAtrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    I thought that 32GB micro-sd card was going to come in handy!
     

Share This Page

Loading...