Titanium and an External SD Card


Last Updated:

  1. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    *RESOLVED*

    See later post in this thread.

    = = = = =

    I use MyBackup Pro and it can store its backups on an external SD card. I've searched but haven't been able to discover if Titanium has this same capability. If a phone needs to be replaced, what good is it to have the backup internally? I know I can copy the TitaniumBackup folder to my external SD card along with its files, but can it be done automagically as a program option during the backup?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    *bump*
     
  3. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes, it does allow that. In fact you could save it to a dropbox, and then it backup to other PCs that you have set up on that.
     
  4. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why don't you enlighten us as to how to do it. I do believe that is what the OP was looking for.
     
  5. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    42
    I'll 2nd that request as well! I'd love to learn more about backup procedures with Titanium, and moving the backups off the phone. I've found my way around ClockworkMod Recovery, and would like the same knowledge with Titanium!
     
  6. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    I can perform multiple steps now to effect an externally-domiciled Titanium backup. As I mentioned in the OP, I can copy the backup to the external SD (an extra, time-consuming step). Additionally, I can access the Titanium Backup folder via USB in Windows or a DOS prompt and xcopy the backups to my computer.

    Titanium allows you to change the name of the backup folder, so I went so far as to keep the TitaniumBackup folder name but point the folder location to the SD card (\sdcard\sd). No luck.

    So, in summary, I want to have the Titanium Backups deposited on my external SD card as part of the normal, one-step backup process. If it can't be done, I wonder why it hasn't been implemented as an option since it seems logical (at least to me :))

    I left a message on a Titanium Backup support site after unsuccessfully searching for a solution there, but no replies yet.
     
  7. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't have my phone to specifically say how, so I can't. (I'm one of the ones that returned it and am waiting on the GPS fix).

    But it was pretty simple for me to find. Somewhere in the settings there is an option to set the target. Just takes a bit of exploring.
     
  8. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    If "set the target" refers to specifying the backup folder name, been there - didn't accept the re-direct to the external card unless I confused TB by pointing it to \sdcard\sd\TitaniumBackup

    It's difficult for me to believe that the only repository for the backups would be within the phone itself. If that's how it's designed, the developer needs to provide an external SD card option so that backup/restoration becomes easily portable in the event a new device is obtained. As I mentioned, there are ways around this...but the workarounds should not be required to compensate for poor product feature definition.
     
  9. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm sorry that I can't provide more information. (I am so anxious to get my phone back)

    But your comments about renaming the foldelr and pointing to the SD card sounds like the way I did it. I was successful.

    All I can think is that maybe your version is different from teh one I had. (Mine was current about 4 weeks ago). So, if it isn't working, maybe your version has a bug in it.

    Hopefully someone else will chime in here.

    You might also try a post over on the XDA forum. I don't know if the best sub-forum would be the Quesitons forum or the Apps forum.
     
  10. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Thanks for your effort. It's possible that my re-direction syntax is formulated incorrectly.

    I'll try XDA and will let you (everyone) know if I get this resolved.
     
  11. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    *RESOLVED*

    Goal: Instruct Titanium Backup to automatically store your backup files on an external SD card so that restoring the backups in the event you need to exchange your phone becomes a convenient task.

    Resolution: I just heard back from the developer. In Titanium's preferences change the backup folder name to sd/TitaniumBackup. Don't forget to delete the existing backups and TitaniumBackup folder that is, by default, internal to your phone. Then create your "portable" backup.

    P.S. The author of the program, Jo
     
    nybmx, Fate0n3 and RO3 like this.
  12. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you for this actually was wondering today how to do this.... Simple search gave me the answer. One question tho when backing up this way were you able to back up the market link with it? I have it enabled and have tried several times and none of the times does it back up the market link with it?
     
  13. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Ya know, I don't back up the market links because I don't see a need for it. [corrected in subsequent post]
     
  14. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    Noooo.... I wasn't for sure when backing up apps and sys data without the market links if they would show up in market as downloaded or if there would be issues with it. Right now I only have app data backed up not sure if I should back up the sys data. Sys data is mainly settings and such correct that are associated with the phones settings? Or does that also include app settings also?
     
  15. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    App settings, too, including email settings (what a pain to recreate!). Settings are almost more important than the apps! The apps are a simple download if needed, but the settings are what take up the most time (customization).

    That said, I sit corrected. Backing up Market links will re-create them when you click Downloads if a restore is necessary. I thought they persisted.

    When you attempt to back up your Market links, how do you know that it hasn't occurred?

    More specifically, do the results reflect the "M" next to the backed up stuff?
     
  16. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well then time to do an app and sys back up lol... They did when I first did the back up on the internal SD memory. When I switched my back up to my external SD card they are no longer backing up with market link even tho it is enabled in the settings.
     
  17. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    I just completed a full backup (including Market links) to my external SD card. The magic "M"s do show up as overlays to the smiley faces.

    Don't forget to enable USB debugging before performing the backup (but you already knew that, didn't you?) :)
     
  18. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmmm... Well after deleting old back up, I restarted phone and cleared folder on SD card and tried again, and now Some of them do have the lovely M on them lol... Only some of them tho maybe if I try again it will get them all hahaha
     
  19. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Remember, not all will! Only those with a Market link.
     
  20. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    42
    Going to have to do this tonight. I've been copying the folder from internal, moving it to external...but I'd much rather just have TiBackup do it for me.

    Thanks Jack!
     
  21. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    Weird is if I manually click on each one and click Backup... It will on some of them back up the market with it that way.... Hmmm
     
  22. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Did you see my post above? (Remember, not all will! Only those with a Market link.)
     
  23. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    3
    All of my apps I was trying to back up were market linked.... That was what was confusing. It is odd some of them I had to hit a few times to back-up and then they would show the pretty M i might try and see if they are actually backing them up this evening.
     
  24. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Place this on a sticky note in anticipation of Froyo. Not mine (from a guy at XDA).

    Rather than sd/TitaniumBackup

    We'll be using this path with Froyo...

    external_sd/TitaniumBackup
     
  25. thecarpenter

    thecarpenter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ewinger way above made a comment about "dropbox" but hasn't yet gotten back to explain it. As stated somewhere,"what good is a backup on the original device" if you loose it or whatever, hence dropbox. I think it is an online backup and then you can sync it to your home pc. It is all there in the TB program. Seems like we can never read enough to "know it all"
     

Share This Page

Loading...