Titanium Backup - fail?


Last Updated:

  1. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Titanium Backup is acting weird.

    Here's the story:

    Was on E.E. 3.0. Wanted to try XTR.
    Backed up all apps to Titanium backup. Successful.
    Made a NAND backup. Successful.

    Wiped, flashed XTR. Successful.
    Downloaded Titanium Backup again from Market and opened it. Initially, did not show my apps in the backup folder, although the Overview screen did show that the sd card was identified, and the folder was named correctly.

    Restarted Titanium Backup, all the apps then showed up, and I was able to (slowly - free version) reinstall all the apps. SUCCESS.
    Ran XTR for a few days, added some more apps, made new backup of all the apps with Titanium Backup.

    BUT! TOday, I had a problem with XTR. Some account hung on syncing, started to drain the battery, and wouldn't allow me to open the accounts & sync pref panel - kept FC that panel.

    So, I decided to revert to my NAND backup of EE3. That went fine, all good.
    But when I opened Titanium backup to load the new apps from the past few days, TItanium said no apps were backed up! Everything looks correct, except the backup/restore tab shows only the apps on the phone (from the nand backup) but not the apps that are on the card in the backup folder.

    SO how do I restore them. Is titanium acting wrongly, or am I not understanding how it works?

    Please enlighten me.
     

    Advertisement
  2. gridbug

    gridbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    Titanium Backup is Force Closing. Won't even open for me... checked it out in the Market app and all the comments report the same issue with multiple phones. Hope they get it sorted out soon!
     
  3. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I haven't used Titanium Backup yet because I've only used one ROM so far (Aloysius). I'm thinking about flashing a new ROM (Sense-able 3.1).

    When I do a NAND backup before wiping, will it remember the apps I have for the Aloysius ROM? I realize they won't carry over to the newly flashed ROM (thus Titanium), but will they be there if I decide to go back to Aloysius after flashing Sense-able?
     
  4. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    Yes, a NAND backup will remember everything, your apps, data, everything. When you restore, it will be just the way it was before.
     
    Bswartz95 likes this.
  5. VonKannick

    VonKannick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    I did a NAND last night, and I happen to have just finished downloading something. A flash and restore later, and the restore was so perfect it even still had the download finished notification in the bar.
     
  6. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    slightly different problem, but the newest vers. of TI backup has been FCing on root request for me. Tried the backup on his website, same result. this happening to anyone else?

    edit: for that matter, myBackup free is hanging/fc on su request also. What the eff?
     
  7. gridbug

    gridbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    I was using TB yesterday and had no problems... I even realized that I could now use it to uninstall useless (to me at least) stock apps like Twitter and the like!

    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...