Titanium Backup - Leaked Froyo


Last Updated:

  1. Stockmoose16

    Stockmoose16 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    12
    Okay, I've asked this question in several other threads and forums, but never gotten a clear answer:

    If I use Titanium to back up my Inc w/ 2.1+rooted+Leaked OTA , can I safely restore all apps, settings (including email account settings, wallpaper, home screens), and appearance once I install the Froyo 2.2 that leaked today?

    I've seen some posts that say you should never apply system settings from an old rom to a new one, but the whole reason I bought Titanium was so that I wouldn't have to re-set up all my home screens, background images, wallpapers, email accounts, etc. If I wanted to just backup/restore apps, there are a million ways to do that. I thought the whole reason Titanium only works on a rooted phone was so that I could restore EVERYTHING.

    How can I SAFELY use Titanium to move to the leaked Froyo rom without losing any of my settings, apps, or appearance?
     

    Advertisement
  2. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    You can backup + restore everything without any problems when going from 2.1 to the new Froyo ROM. I JUST did it, and I haven't noticed anything out of the ordinary.

    And in case any apps don't get reinstalled, don't forget you can restore the settings after a manual reinstall (I had to do that for a couple).
     
  3. corywf

    corywf Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't restore system apps. I tried restoring all apps (including system) last night and the sense launcher kept FCing on me. I had to reflash the ROM. After reflashing I only restored 3rd party apps. I think it has something to do with the older app versions not being compatible with 2.2
     
  4. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119

    This. There is no reason to restore old system apps to an upgraded system. Only use Titanium to restore 3rd Party apps.
     
  5. JBHorner

    JBHorner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried this very scenario--backup using Titanium, restore all. It caused nothing but problems for me. As with another individual here, I had force closes and inconsistent behavior in applications. This said, I wouldn't recommend it at all. I think that excluding the system data would be safe, though I didn't try that.

    I agree with the individual that said it wouldn't make sense to restore system applications--but I think the point was more along the lines of restoring system data. (Which there is value in having an ability to do.)

    Joel
     
  6. tmellen

    tmellen Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    I backed up everything then restored the apps of the ones I wanted to reinstall. It took a little more time, but I only installed apps, no system data or system files. Mine's been working fine for around 15 hours now with no problems!

    PLUS, I didn't install everything I had on there before... which was a lot of junk!!!
     
  7. bmo21

    bmo21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have restored all of my apps, but was wondering if there is a way to restore my text messages with Ti Backup? I have handsent if that makes a difference. Also did a full back up prior to installing 2.2.
     
  8. ponchera

    ponchera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    So if we don't do a restore all, how do you get your Sense home screen layout back?:confused:
     
  9. Jonamerica

    Jonamerica Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    193
    Take screen shots and rebuild.
     
  10. ponchera

    ponchera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    uhh. no. that's the dumb way of doing it.... the question was how to do it with titanium.

    I did a little googling after posting and found answer, so to make up for the useless post, the answer is restore " [DESKTOP] HTC Sense 1.00 ".
    that will give you the sense home screen layout back.

    Not sure if with 2.2 that sense 1.00 is now a newer version. so far haven't seen anything crapping out on me. got all my screens/folders backgrounds back. I did have to delete/add some widgets again. the locations were marked but with errors.
     
  11. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    I guess my opinion is that some people expect more than a $4 app can provide. Restoring the works is great in many situations. Once in awhile we jump up to an entirely new platform that has its own beasts. In those situations, some extra work on the user end is required for optimization. If anyone can develop a mystery machine that can cross platforms with no ill effects, i'll be the first to pay up for your creation.
     
    Eris Lover likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...