• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root To root...or not no to root? That is the question.

fiendiish

Lurker
Aug 3, 2010
Yes, this is my first post LOL. I been lurking for a couple of days. I'm a new Android LOVER! Upgraded from an iPhone 3G to the Aria (if that can even be called a phone =/) to my wonderous Captivate.

I wanna root it...but I'm scared. I've never done it before and I don't want to brick it. Also, I know it voids the warranty. Any tips or reassurances?

I downloaded the Pimp My Captivate guide...seems pretty easy...but nothing ever goes off that smoothly.

Are the benefits of rooting really worth it? Will I still get the push update to Froyo when it rolls out? What about the GPS problem that Samsung is supposed to push a fix for?

I'm in the same boat as you. I see the advantages to rooting, but it's the question of unrooting and the uncertainty of updates that has me concerned.

I've read elsewhere that rooted phones get an error when connecting to the ATT servers to check for updates. I get "no update available" on my unrooted phone.

"Root--unroot--update--REPEAT" just sounds like endless chances to brick my phone.

Upvote 0
i guess i cant post links here, probably shouldve read the rules. but google xda developers and goto their website and the forums for the captivate. click Captivate Android Development and there will be a link to a one click root / unroot and thats what i used, very easy to remove the risk of bricking.

now most people leave the phone rooted but if you want to just do the lag fix you can probably unroot when you finish, that is the main reason i rooted but i have no reason to unroot it yet so i just leave it

as far as getting froyo and the gps fix im 99% sure you get it and dont see any reason you wouldnt. somebody else could probably answer for sure as its my first android also

Reactions: Tripulsiks
Upvote 0