To those sick of seeing the AT&T apps but don't want to root. I bring you a solution!


Last Updated:

  1. Coppanuva

    Coppanuva Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Launcherpro has recently received an update that allows you to hide apps in the apps-drawer. This will allow you to pretend the AT&T apps no longer exist without forcing you to root the phone.
    LauncherPro v0.7.1.0 released!
     

    Advertisement
  2. NOSintake

    NOSintake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll have to try this once I turn my phone back on
     
  3. Loco Leeep

    Loco Leeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm tired of the AT&T Map app starting itself whenever it feels like it!
    hiding the icon would be nice, but that's not going to fix it.
     
  4. DontMindMe

    DontMindMe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Me too. I'm surprised so many people are complaining about the gps or no flash instead of this. In my opinion having this slowly kill my battery and cost me money is a bigger deal than using a flashlight or asking for directions/printing them from the internet/reading a map.
     
  5. jgcalderonperez

    jgcalderonperez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I notice the same thing today :-S AT&T Map and a few other AT&T star randomly...
     
  6. ardyer

    ardyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    35
    I've not had this happen at all, I'd take it back if it was.
     
  7. baddress

    baddress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah I went into the AT&T store yesterday to complain about the battery life, and I showed them the battery usage where AT&T Hotspots and AT&T Navigator are constantly sucking up the battery (not to mention leeching 2-5MB per day off my data plan). It starts every time the phone starts and there's no way to disable that.

    Their answer was, "That's an AT&T feature, you can't turn it off. If you try to turn it off the phone won't work anymore."

    :rolleyes:

    I also said, where's this incredible standby and talk time, and the guy says "Those numbers are for cell standby without 3G." So I said, How do I turn off 3G? The guy says, "3G cannot be turned off on this phone."

    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  8. Daleon

    Daleon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had installed APNDriod so I could enable\disable the data services at will and make sure i was only using wifi most of the time. But when I was not using wifi I could not get a mobile data connection of any kind even when I told it to enable them. I uninstalled it and still could get nada. Then found it had renamed my APN to wap.cingular_off. Hit restore APN to wap.cingular and 3G is back and suddenly AT&T hotspots is running lol when I had not seen it running before.

    So you can turn off your 3G. Hopefully a better app comes out that will actually enable\disable it properly comes out soon.
     
  9. DontMindMe

    DontMindMe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    you havnt? it seems to me like it opens in the background whenever you open maps, but it will. not. die. after that. ill use ATK to kill facebook or something so it doesnt hurt the battery, and ill see AT&T Nav up too. Then 15 minutes later ill check and its back up and running.
     
  10. A.VOID

    A.VOID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Heads up >>> When LauncherPro is running, no USB connection to PC for data tfer
     
  11. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    I get a USB connection just fine with LP :)

    BT works great for file transfers too.
     
  12. Bane99

    Bane99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works great! Just want this option to be released for ADW.Launcher as well =/
    And yes the programs still start randomly in the background -.-
     
  13. Jofaba

    Jofaba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    31
    Awesome! Thanks so much!
     
  14. A.VOID

    A.VOID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I get the USB connection, as well as the pop up message that it needs to be on an idle screen
     
  15. jesterkiller

    jesterkiller Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    just did this earlier today. looks a lot better in the menu without the att apps.

    and my phone hasn't had programs randomly start running
     
  16. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    15
    Although this does not free up the memory they take right. But on the other hand I do not plan to root my phone. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...