Tomorrow - F this update + task manager


Last Updated:

  1. gnarlyDUCK

    gnarlyDUCK Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    Tomorrow i come back to rooted hero.
    Though, i only have another week til i get the Evo.. this 2.1 update for the Hero is SLOW!
    Im sure everyone is tired of all the 2.1 rants, so i will spare mine.

    Ive been using Advanced Task Manager, and was curious for an explanation. Why is it after a fresh reboot and all the programs defaulted to start show more available memory (usually around 38mb), than when i actually use it to close out everything else but messages.. shows (26mb) about an hour later?
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    because task killers actually tend to do the exact opposite of what they say they do, and should really only be used to kill apps that are poorly written and won't close.

    Let android do its own job of managing the phone's memory, and you'll likely be much happier
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    I would agree with the reply above, but I do have one thought/question. You mention this "2.1 Update." Did you install the 2.1 update from Sprint? If so, you will NOT be coming back to a rooted Hero anytime soon until the 2.1 Update is rooted.
     
  4. lunatech

    lunatech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, I did a search and couldn't find any info on this so here goes. I have the file "RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_1.56.651.2_signed_release" that I used to "unroot" my wife's phone because she wanted the official 2.1 from Sprint. This file extracts it's contents to a folder and you just run the program. It does the exact same thing the official 2.1 upgrade does, every step even looks the same. It just puts you back to 1.5. Has anyone tried using this to go from the official Sprint 2.1 back to official 1.5 and if so were they successful? Just wondering if this could be a way back to 1.5 and root access for those who are interested. Mine is still rooted and running Fresh 2.1.1 and loving it BTW.
     
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    From what I've read, no. You cannot use the 1.5 RUU to go back to 1.5 from 2.1. Once you've ran the 2.1 RUU from sprint, you are stuck with it....for now.
     
  6. lunatech

    lunatech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the reply. Just wondering. My wife seems happy with the official 2.1 and that is all that matters. I'm happy being rooted. I've tried searching over at XDA and haven't found anything on it yet. Just wondering if anyone has tried and if so what happened.
     
  7. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    lunatech likes this.
  8. lunatech

    lunatech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2

Share This Page

Loading...