tomtom 6 for hero help


Last Updated:

  1. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, i got my htc hero (t-mobile) last week, very please with it.i'm having a problem intalling tomtom 6 that i've used previously on my nokia n73, cos it's on mini sd, i've copied it to a micro sd and inserted it in the hero, no installation option it's just on the root dir of the micro sd, tried to run the ttn.cab,but no option to run it ,all i get is copy,paste, move...etc...
    i bought the tomtom 6 on a mini sd 3 years ago, used it on nokia no problem, and on the box it says it's compatible with many PDAs and mobile phones. i don't want to fork out another
     

    Advertisement
  2. scaz

    scaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
     
    gizzi likes this.
  3. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply.
    yes there is tomtom for htc, there are sites that sell it. here a link for a forum where someone had theirs done, somehow i could not do mine.
    HTC Touch Pocket PC - Support Forum - eXpansys Inc

    i haven't used google or copilot yet as i was using tomtom for years, that's why i was looking for help to solve the installation problem. on the nokia, i just popped in the mini sd, it did the install by itself, with the htc,nothing happend.
    cheers
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    The HTC phone you have linked to runs Windows Mobile OS. Your Nokia ran on Symbian OS. The HTC Hero runs on Android, which is an entirely different operating system to either of those.

    Tom Tom does not make a version of their software that runs on Android, so you can't install Tom Tom on your Hero.

    You will have to get new sat nav software I am afraid.
     
    gizzi likes this.
  5. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers, i probably see into getting copilot, seems more like tomtom, as with google, don't have 3D guidance,which make travelling more easier and safer.plus the maps are loaded on to sd card. no more loosing network signal.

    thanks.
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    The closest you will get to Tom Tom as far as interface is concerned is Sygic Mobile Maps, which I have got - www.sygic.com.
     
    gizzi likes this.
  7. MPenney

    MPenney New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    What do you mean if your rooted you can use google navigator? I have a Hero from Sprint and the Sprint Navigation sucks........

    Thanks
     
  8. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Google Navigator is Google's sat nav app (based on google maps) which is bundled free with later versions of Android. It is not available for Android 1.5, which the Hero runs on. In order to get it you will need to root the phone and then instal an unofficial version of Android based upon Android 2.1. To see more look at the posts in the All things Root sub-forum.
     
  9. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had TomTom 6 on my Nokia E71 (Symbian OS) for a long time. Co-Pilot for the Hero is very similar. The thing I really don't like about it is that the view struggles to keep the view of the road live, especially when turning corners. Otherwise, it's a good app.
     
    gizzi likes this.
  10. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers jim, i think i'll have to keep my nokia with tomtom for travelling, i got so used to it,very easy to use,especially when you're on the road and decide to go somewhere else, you can do it almost without even looking at the phone and plus i had the bluetooth gps on the dashboard, old fashion, if you know what i mean, as for the hero it's all new to me ( touch screen). trying to make a phone call, ended up calling someone else, matter of time to get used to it i suppose, BTW is the interface of copilot same as tomtom. what i find good with tomtom,i can come out of it while in use by pressing the red button make a call or the something else when finnished, i just press the tomtom icon, its back guiding me. like nothing is happend, i wonder if you do that with copilot.:)
     
  11. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    The Hero can multitask. When in my sat nav app (Sygic Mobile Maps) I can hit the phone button on the Hero (one on the left) and the phone screen comes up so I can make a call. Mobile Maps keeps working in the background while I make the call. When I finish the call I hit the return button and the phone closes and I am back in the sat nav. I guess it will be the same with Copilot because it is a function of the phone not the sat nav app.

    In fact because I have a voice activated bluetooth phone kit it is even easier than that. I can do most of it by voice commands, when I can remember them.

    One thing I do like is that when you switch the screen off the sat nav continues to work in the background. I was not used to that with TT & WM. Great for when you set a walking route in a new town. Switch off the screen leave it in your pocket and you get guided as you walk. I found it was best to use earphones so that people don't stare at you when your pocket talks to you! If you are not sure take it out of your pocket, switch on the screen and look at the map.
     
  12. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    CoPilot is designed differently to TomTom and I think it's much nicer. Where the interface for TomTom is menu driven, CoPilot is primarily icons, which makes it a lot easier and more intuitive to use. It happily multi-tasks as peterc10 mentioned and sits in the background working away while you do other things.

    As for the navigation screen, it's familiar enough that anyone who's used TomTom or similar will have no problem with CoPilot. :)
     
    gizzi likes this.
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    As I said in my previous post the closest menu interface you can get to TT is Sygic. Maps are very similar too with road signs at the top and lane assist at the bottom. If you want to compare Sygic and Copilot and see what others users think you can find dedicated forums for them both on this site
     
    gizzi likes this.
  14. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers guys for the advice.well got the copilot up and running on it today.
    downloaded the maps. interface similar to TT, which is good. accuracy not as good as TT, the 3D map zoom in limited compare to TT, updating your position bit laggy, i don't know if it's the copilot or the phone, got me to where i wanted to go, rerouting far more quicker than TT.
    the good thing about TT, you can orientate the 3D map which ever way you like. any TT user will notice the difference in the map layout.
    all and all it's ok.can't moan too much as it's a freebe :D no speed cameras though.

    cheers again :)
     
  15. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    How is it a "freebe"? You can add 3rd party speed cameras to it.
     
  16. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  17. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  18. Indy_Hero

    Indy_Hero Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    i use copilot with speed cameras. Never had a problem!
     
  19. gizzi

    gizzi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm using it with speed cameras, some how, it voice annouce them, but can't see them on the map, still good. it gets me from A to B though
     

Share This Page

Loading...