Too expensive


Last Updated:

  1. v1tal1y

    v1tal1y Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone, I'm legible for a phone upgrade and I want the Galaxy S, but I think it's just too much! Is there any way I can get rid of the $30 internet plan and like put on a cheaper one? Like $10 or $20? Thank you!:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    ten dollar will not work on vibrant. Twenty dollar plan is reserved for long time loyal customers. If you are a long time loyal customer you can probably get the twenty dollar plan. New customers pay thirty.
     
  3. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    As SamsungVibrant mentioned, only loyal customers (usually 4+ years) will get any kind of discount. The higher cost of internet is facilitated by the added features and capabilities of the device. If you bought an Aston Martin, would you put regular gas in it? No, because it requires premium (and in some models, 96+ octane). Cheap internet = cheap phone. Expensive internet = expensive phone.

    Personally, T-Mo required me to upgrade to the $25/mo data plan over a year ago with a Blackberry I had purchased. I accepted only when they offered me a $10 discount for life on my other services, since my last data plan was $15. I've been with them for 5 years now though.
     
  4. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    do account transfers count? i've been with them for 6+ years.. but 3 years ago i switched over to my aunt's family plan. then i last year i went prepaid... so technically i've been with tmo for a while. i don't think it'll count though.
     
  5. darksandz93

    darksandz93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    I,ve been with them for a few years and i have $10 texting for 3 lines total, $20 data, and vibrants for $99 each from T-Mobile themselves. Just call loyalty and tell them your eligible for an upgrade and try to negotiate the price...T-Mobile has really awesome customer service.
     
  6. TuesdayClub

    TuesdayClub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    I pay $120 + tax for limited calls but unlimited everything for 2 android phones...been with tM for 7+ years.
     
  7. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Totally off the subject, but where exactly do you find 96+ octane gas other than an airport or racing supply? I haven't seen a rating that high since the days of leaded gas.
     
  8. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    $30 a month for 3g is a bit much, no matter how you cut it. i'm paying $35 for my cable internet, and i'm probably downloading 10 gigs or more each month.. the whole family is using it too. and here i have to pay $30 a month, so only i myself can use the 3g (and i'd probably use no more than 500 megs a month) feature. it's a bit ridiculous.

    i wouldn't mind paying $15 for 300-400mb per month, but forcing me to pay $30 regardless of how much data i intend to use is kind of bs to me.
     
  9. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    Its called racing fuel.
    cam 2 is around 100-110 octane.
    but do not put it into your regular street engine.

    edit:
    Sunoco Stations Sell 94.
    76 stations sells 100.
     
  10. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Yeah...that was my reference to a racing supply shop. Can't recall ever seeing 100 octane at 76 though! Well, not in a very long time. The reference to an airport...I've heard of people with hot cars going to the airport to get fueled up for race day. That's pretty high octane stuff too. :) Maybe I should take my friend's Toyota RAV there and see what happens!
     
  11. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    on a sidenote, if i get a captivate... could i unlock it and use t-zones with tmobile? can tmobile check the captivate's IMEI?
     
  12. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    you can do that but you will not get 3g speeds. You will only be able to use edge
     
  13. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    like it was said u will only get edge. However i think the Canadian vibrant which runs on bell might work...maybe t-mobile doesn't have bells imei list
     
  14. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    of course. that's not what i was asking though. let me clarify.

    the vibrant won't run on t-zones because they check the IMEI of your vibrant. they then decide that a smartphone shouldn't be using edge and block your connection.

    my question is, if you get a captivate and use it on tmobile's network.. would they be able to track your IMEI and prevent you from using t-zones?
     
  15. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15

    they have 100 octane here but thats at a VP racing gas station in town and its like $7 a gallon. they also have 93 octane which is usually unavailable on the west coast.

    also using high octane fuel in a low compression engine will not gain you any more power... you only need higher octane with high compression/ forced induction engines because the fuel burns slower and prevents predetonation.
     
  16. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    if you get a captivate you most like will get away with using the ten dollar t-mobile data plan. But and this is a big but...captivate does not have the proper t-mobile 3g bands...thus you will get edge speeds. This is why i suggested bells vibrant, bells vibrant may have the proper t-mobile 3g bands while t-mobile possibly not having the bell vibrant imei numbers.


    The only real lucky ones are att customers. ..They can use a vibrant and get 3g via the vibrant 1900 band...but vibrant does not have 3g 850 band for att. You can find the band option in the phone but turning it on does nothing.
     
  17. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    so the simple answer is that tmobile is unable to detect the samsung captivate's imei?
     
  18. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    I see 92 octane around here, at least last time I checked. $7 a gallon? I'll stick with my tired old '03 Cavalier for a while.

    I know about the compression/octane situation. I was thinking maybe RAV's ECU would advance the timing a bit...maybe help it smoke those front wheels off the line! :D
     
  19. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    That bring up a question...since custom ROM's/kernels are such a big thing, is it possible to flash to a ROM/kernel that would allow a Captivate to work on T-Mobile 3g, or is it "hard" hardware limitation that would prevent you from using those bands? There are radios that can be frequency controlled with software/firmware. I just wonder if cell phones have this ability.
     
  20. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Here in San Diego, there are a lot of super expensive cars, so the gas stations in places like Rancho Santa Fe and Fairbanks Ranch have the high octane pumps to fuel all of the Lambo's, Ferrari's, and Aston Martin's. Last I checked, it was about $8 per gallon in RSF, as that's one of the richest towns in America, so they gouge the price a bit.
     
  21. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Ouch. And I had my eye on that new Ferrari...the one that keeps catching fire. :D
     
  22. Graylander

    Graylander Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the loyal customer discount by calling T-Mobile and asking for it. You could try that.
     
  23. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have a neon srt-4... 21PSI of boost... yeah I wish I had 93 octane lol.
    I dont think the timing will advance with the same fuel pressure and amount of air. If i remember right timing is mostly based on A/F ratio. higher octane fuel doesn't change the AFR any. cars and bikes are my other hobby other than computers and gadgets. haha
     
  24. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Yeah...I realize it's not that simple, like it was in the olden days of rat motors and Hemi's where you'd just give the distributor a twist and change things up a bit.

    Always did like those Neon's. Sounds like a fun car. :)
     
  25. misterrunon

    misterrunon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    well my question was if i would even qualify...

    how long have you been with tmo?
     

Share This Page

Loading...