Too many irritating issues...time to replace?


Last Updated:

  1. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys,

    i've had this phone for just over a week now. I have loved the browsing and the interface as a general, but i'm now feeling let down by a few irritating issues and so far haven't found any answers to this. I may decide to send the phone back if i can't resolve these issues:-

    1. When I get an incoming call, I end up either silencing, declining, or answering calls accidently when i'm pulling the phone out of my pocket. I want to disable any touch function when answering a call as i want to be able to press a hard-key button instead.

    2. When i'm on a call and a calender reminder comes on, i get no alerts, vibrations etc and worse of all, it disappears off the main screen, so i end up missing the damn event.

    3. Even after flashing to the latest modaco 2.9 rom, the reception on these phones is poor.

    4. Whilst talking on phone, sometimes people are saying they can't hear me clearly and i sound deep, as though i've covered the mic.

    I do like this phone, but with this phone so far IMHO, i've had many issues...just hope someone can help me. :(

    htchero123
     

    Advertisement
  2. mwilson1987

    mwilson1987 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Newsradio, I've been looking for such a leather pouch where did you get yours?!
     
  3. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    i want to know too pls...
     
  4. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's the Radio you want to flash. It is independent of the ROM. Look here for radio (GSM only!!!!!!!) updates.

    [GSM] 09/10 - Hero ROMs + radios in update.zip format - Android @ MoDaCo

    Usual disclaimers - your risk - you can brick your phone - if you don't understand it don't do it - etc etc

    My signal strength was greatly increased by updating the radio.

    Hope it helps.
     
  5. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a similar type before I got my freebee HTC official one.

    Do a search on a certain well know auction site and there should be plenty come up - I got mine from there and its v good.
     
  6. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    global mate, this is the radio i have:- 63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18

    Is this the one i need and is it the latest?

    Thanks Nighthaunt.
     
  7. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    This Radio

    63.18.55.06IU_6.35.08.22

    is the latest and is at the top of the list of radios in the earlier link. It is the one I used (upgraded from 63.18.55.06EU_6.35.06.18 like you). This gave me a big boost in reported signal strength and I have had no drop-outs except in places where everyone gets a drop-out.

    Worth a try and I hope it helps.
     
  8. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought I can only use a radio with the letters EU or have i got that wrong?

    Also how do i flash this radio onto the modaco 2.9 rom?
     
  9. Ludo

    Ludo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does these letters means ? I thought "EU" stands for "Europe", so as I'm in Europe, is it "safe" to install 63.18.55.06IU_6.35.08.22 ?
     
  10. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i thought too ludo and i too would like to know pls.
     
  11. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought it was 'EU' for Europe once but

    IT ISN'T!!

    Upgrade with confidence.
     
  12. Ludo

    Ludo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok installed the "IU" and no problem so far
     
  13. nickhirst

    nickhirst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Can I upgrade to the previously mentioned radio when I'm on orange and if so how?
    many thanks
     
  14. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would think you have to be rooted first so you can apply the update having booted from a recovery image. I was on Orange and I did it that way. What ROM version do you have as some are rootable easily and some are more difficult?
     
  15. nickhirst

    nickhirst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have the newest orange firmware from htc page:
    2.73.61.5
     
  16. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are going to have to downgrade to root the phone. If you are going to do that you are as well to go all the way and root the phone, install MoDaCo 2.9 ROM and a good recovery image (amon-ra 1.3.2 is great) and unlock if you wish.

    You will need to use a gold card to allow downgrading. It is quite a complex process but worthwhile. My unlocked, MoDaCo ROM-ed, Amon-RA recovery rooted phone is quite transformed!

    It is really essential, I would think, to have a Nandroid backup before doing the more exciting stuff as you will be able to recover any disasters so you really must root and install a recovery image first.

    Downgrade info is here

    Gold Card stuff is here

    HOWTO: Create a GoldCard - Bypassing the RUU/SPL CID check to Root/Downgrade - xda-developers
     
  17. nickhirst

    nickhirst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Thanks for the help.
    There dont seem to be a link behind here:

    Downgrade info is here
    Gold Card stuff is here

    cheers
    Nick
     
  18. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
  19. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
  20. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you mean a recovery image or a complete ROM?

    Although I did this a week ago I had to do so much reading and trying that I had forgotten.

    I think you can use Flashrec to flash a Custom Recovery Image but can you replace the full ROM without root?

    Yes - just thinking it through - use Flashrec to install a Recovery Image and then use that Recovery Image to flash a Full ROM. That will work won't it?

    Arghhh - my head hurts.
     
  21. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    The guide I linked to is the method for installing the entire custom ROM, but the first part of the process is flashing the recovery image. If all you want is to flash the recovery image, you can always stop there.
     
  22. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry - I am confused by the strange order in which I carried out the changes to my own phone.

    I don't THINK you can install a recovery image on a phone with the latest orange or HTC ROM as I think the exploit used by Flashrec has been patched. It is therefore necessary to downgrade the ROM using an older RUU with a gold card after which you can root/upgrade/unlock/customise.

    I'm going to to read the entire linked thread now - probably getting confused!:rolleyes:
     
  23. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK - just ignore me!

    For some reason (probably beacuse I had two tabs open in the forum) I ended up looking at the wrong thread. The one you linked is quite clear and quite correct.

    I could have taken this route when I changed my phone but got tied up trying to unlock while on the Orange ROM. My twists and turns on the path were much more involved! :eek:

    Bottom line is that a good recovery image, a MoDaCo ROM and the latest radio do transform the phone.
     
  24. htchero123

    htchero123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys if i already have modaco 2.9 rom installed, then how do i upgrade to the latest radio? Can you pls give me a step-by-step guide?

    thank u
     
  25. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    To install a radio update, you just copy the radio file to your SD card and rename it to update.zip. Then you boot into the custom recovery image (Home + PowerOn) and apply it with the sd:update.zip option.

    It's wise to do a nandroid backup first of course.
     

Share This Page

Loading...