Too Many Pattern AttempsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there...
    Left my phone out and my friend tried to get into it with the pattern a bunch of times now the phone is locked and it's asking for my gmail account info.
    I've typed it in properly (confirmed with my pc) multiple times with @gmail.com, @googlemail.com and without any extension to no avail..

    I know the pattern, will the pattern unlock screen ever come back?

    I don't want to reset my phone as I have tons of numbers stored to the phone, pictures, apps, etc.
    This blows, if anyone can help me figure this out I'd be willing to compensate, thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think after you do that you need to access the settings again and change the pattern back to what it was.

    But if your talking about it won't let you even get passed the lock screen now even though you put the correct info, not sure what to do there. Maybe wait a tad and try again.
     
  3. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^ not sure what you're trying to say. I can't get into my phone it's now locked.

    I'm reading everywhere that this is a bug and I will not be able to log in even with correct credentials, and will have to reset my phone. If that's the case the G1 is bullshit and it's getting returned.
     
  4. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Might want to try and change your password online first then try on your phone.

    Can't tell you why its not accepting the correct information.
     
  5. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have also tried that.
    Sounds like the only thing that fixes it is to reset the phone. I find that ridiculous; I have a feeling all the numbers I've saved are to the phone and not the SIM...

     
  6. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well all your numbers should be linked with your Google account and thus you shouldn't have to worry about that. Only thing you'll really loose is programs from the market you have downloaded.

    Just go to your GMail account and look under Contacts. Should list every number and person you have on your phone. If you had syncing turned on, which is default.
     
  7. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I turned off all sync functions too when I first got the phone in an attempt to save battery. .

    I'm in a pickle, eh?
     
  8. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well that sucks. You might want to wait and see if anyone else has a solution for you, I can't think of anything else you can do.
     
  9. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate you trying to help.

    Will all of my apps need to be repurchased if I reset the phone..?
     
  10. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Purchased Apps are linked to your Google account, so if you reset your phone and use the same Google account you'll still have them, just have to redownload them.
     
  11. jsweetser2

    jsweetser2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have multiple Gmail accounts? I was in teh same spot you were a week ago and i thought i registered under one account, but it was actually another account all together. Once i put in the right info it brought me to the pattern reset screen.

    Also, when you are putting in your password are you watching the letters and numbers as you put it in and are they correct? When i went from a blackberry to my G1 i kept hitting alt # to get the number, but on the G1 its just like a keyboard, just press the number.

    Hope this helps.
     
  12. deltron

    deltron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hard reset my phone, now I still can't login with my correct gmail credentials.
    I've tried using tmobiles APN and the blackberry APN (what i was using previously),

    any ideas?
     
  13. dynodroid

    dynodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have a data plan? If so, when you set the APN settings does the Data icon appear at the top near the signal?

    If not, are attempting to do it over Wifi? This is something I'm not quite familiar with.

    I did have trouble with setting my APN settings correctly, but I have AT&T. I would assume that the T-mobile APN Settings would still be there, but it might be worth a try to toy around with them.
     
  14. 23james

    23james Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    check your email they might send you an unlock link or something. although i remember doing the same and when i entered my pass and email it unlocked for me.
     
  15. basdrbasamba

    basdrbasamba New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    quote=deltron;32465]Hey there...

    Left my phone out and my friend tried to get into it with the pattern a bunch of times now the phone is locked and it's asking for my gmail account info.which is hard to get i bought d phone from someone who got it from a brother .i cannot log into my phone i try to open with google online but if i enter that it never goes.
    pls help.am in the gambia and our network service dont have any connection to the net service
     
  16. pcmann2004

    pcmann2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had the same issue. i had to erase everything anyway is i just erased everything. though i had heard that if you down grade from 1.5 to rc33 it will not wipe user data, just dont format it. idk if this works, i have not tried it.
     
  17. Darrenrichie

    Darrenrichie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have had this same problem just today. Happened once before when it was just the 1.1 firmware and I reset it no problem by logging in using my gmail account as instructed. Tried the same technique today it just didn't recognise my details. I changed my password, tried @gmail, tried @googlemail, tried over wifi and 2g but nothing. Just done a reset and am back on. Google need a fix for this.
     
  18. supernoob

    supernoob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright so this happened to me last night and it took about 2 hours of researching to find a solution.

    The G1 has a bug which doesn't let you unlock your phone from the many attempts that you've tried
    even though you have the correct gmail email and password to unlock it. This trick will only work if
    you know your gmail email and password.

    What I did was.

    1. Call your phone from another phone
    2. While in call, constantly slide your screen up and down fast revealing the physical keyboard while pressing the Home button.
    3. If you did this right when you will be on your home screen and you're free to back up your contacts or pictures or if you
    have the correct login for your gmail, go ahead (go on your computer first and change your gmail email password) and sync your phone to your gmail account.

    4. With the new password on your email and you've synced your phone to it, you should be able to log in and take the pattern password off.

    This worked on my first try but then they screen timed out and I had to do it over. The second time took a few tries but I got it again.

    I hope this helps people out.
     
  19. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    I had forgotten my unlock pattern one time ... I just try to login 5 or 6 times until the phone prompted me for my google login... I gave the registered gmail and PW... and I was again able to get in an reset the pattern ....

    So I am not aware of a bug .... unless it has be introduced by some other software....
     
  20. CavemanUK

    CavemanUK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    Just to let you know we were struggle with a HTC magic phone with exactly the same problem. We found a full reset that resets the phone completely. it DOES lose your data but if you have synced recently you will get all your contacts etc back...

    do the following...

    With the phone turned off, press and hold the HOME and BACK buttons.
    Briefly press the END CALL/POWER button while continuing to press the HOME and BACK buttons.
    When you see the screen with the  Android images, release the HOME and BACK buttons, and then press the TRACKBALL.
     

Share This Page

Loading...