Too many screensGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    so, is anyone else having trouble finding things to fill all their screens with?
    i only use 5 of the 7. i cant seem to find anything useful to put on the first and last screens!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. xstackedx

    xstackedx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your phone must run smooth like the Windows OS.

    I say nay to SenseUI.
     
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    I can never find enough to put on my screens. I also only use 5. No idea what to put on the other 2 lol
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i used to have helix, but i missed how slick sense looked.
    2.1.3 makes it run super smooth. no issues
     
  5. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Nice battery widget, which one is that?

    You seem to like widgets, slap the full screen weather widget on one page and HTC notes on another to fill them up.
     
  6. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I was having that problem, but then I changed my background picture to a picture of my dog, and her face is at the bottom of the screen, so I only fill half of each screen so I can still see her face.

    If you really do want something to fill the extra space, just add some extra widget, like a full-page calendar widget or a Tip Calculator widget.
     
  7. xstackedx

    xstackedx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I deleted senseUI. Now I use the default android home.
     
  8. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    Honestly, I rarely go past the home screen. I have so much on there (Twidroid, Bloo, OEM browser, Xscope browser, camera, The Weather Channel, and other stuff) that I don't really need to go to the other screens much.
     
  9. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i do like widgets. they make things quick and simple in my opinion. i cant believe i forgot the notes. and ya...i used to have the weather widget but i didnt use it much. i have the weather clock with animations in the front page :)


    whoo hoo!
    i <3 proposition 215
    :cool:
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    well have you looked into using Home or Helix to get rid of some of the screens? its not worth it to use sense if you only use on screen.
     
  11. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    ^This is true. I do have apps and widgets on 5 screens total but I end up not using them as much. For example, one screen is like my "media" screen and it has Pandora, iHeartradio, Video Player, etc. on it. I just don't use that stuff that much, to be honest.
     
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I use Home and I just use the home screen. To the left, I have the power widget from Android and the vLingo widget. On my main page, I'm still trying to remember what all I had on it prior to the beta 3.
     
  13. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    dr appointment at med KUSH clinic? nice.
     
  14. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    you cant delete sense. its still running in the background. you can switch back whenever you want
     
  15. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    can you send me the file for vlingo?
    they closed the beta session before i got to it so the file is unavailable for download.
     
  16. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    haha did i mention im a medical marijuana patient? :eek:
     
  17. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have no problem using all my screens. Then again, I need two calendar widgets going on two different screens alone. One for personal use, the other to manage Church meetings and activities. Then I have my main use (home), music and sports update, People widget, games, and finally one screen for other apps that I use from time to time (including the wifi/3g/gps toggles).
     
  18. omfgwtflawl

    omfgwtflawl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    I only use the first screen, which houses the HTC Weather/Clock widget, TweetMeep, 3G On/Off switch, Handcent, and Mini Info. That's allll I need :)
     
  19. MOS95B

    MOS95B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    19
    I only use 3 screens. I tried switching to Home for a while, but didn't notice any performance difference, and missed the extremely slick Sense widgets

    I also have myself trained/brainwashed by being a Windows/PC tech. The fewer icons on my "desktop" the better. Not the same on the phone, but old habits.....
     
  20. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I use 2 screens nearly exclusively. I have a favorites page filled with people I call the most but I forget about it and just end up hitting the call or phone button. I don't feel too guilty for leaving unused screens.
     
  21. mhrebin

    mhrebin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    i have been going back and forth from sense and home for quite awhile.lol the only widget I like from sense is the clock/weather widget. Even though you get the same info from click the clock app, something about having the widget on the homescreen is nice looking. I only use 3 screens at most.

    i switch it up depending on how I am feeling that day. lol I have my home set up across three screens and while I can't notice that big of a difference in speed/battery life. It plays a mental game on me. Makes me think it is doing a world of difference but it might only be a sliver.
     
  22. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Wow, I use all 7 screens on a daily basis. I don't know how you guys can get by with only 3.

    I do love my widgets though. :D
     
  23. coolerinthecorner

    coolerinthecorner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use ALL 7. Full screen bookmarks, E-mail, Calendar and and Photos. The other 2 have analog clock, weather, nav and settings shortcuts plus many others. I've got all the tools and widgets I use on those 2 screens. I MUST have 7 screens.
     
  24. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    I fill my empty screen spaces with the the sound of one hand clapping - either that or the "2.1 OTA Installer Widget", depending on my mood.

    "OMG, There's a Void in my Droid!" - Anon

    :)

    eu1
     
  25. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    It's funny, the first week I had this phone I went through something like the OP's anxiety about not having enough stuff for *all* of the screens to be used up.

    I even started dividing up the icons on my home screen and scattering them around to the other screens.

    After about an hour of messing with that I came to my senses and just put everything back on the home screen with the exception of the large version of the stock calendar, which is on the next screen to the right.

    That's it and I'm fine with it like that just as I'm fine with not using all of the pockets on my shirt, jacket and pants. Nice to have them, but no need to fill them all up just because they're there. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...