Took the plunge and ROOTED!

Last Updated:

1. aileendq

aileendq Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I'm an admitted noob, but I CAN'T wait for 2.1 anymore. Now I just have to find a ROM I like....

My hands were sweating throughout the entire ordeal! :p

EDIT: OK, I have to confess that I un-rooted today. Firstly, I wanted to see if it was a easy as presented. (It was). My phone is exactly as is was prior to rooting. Secondly, I couldn't really find a custom ROM that I really, really liked (i.e. that had everything that I wanted) and that didn't seem overly complicated (i.e. too many options). Thirdly, and most importantly, I don't think I have good enough base knowledge to flash a custom ROM. There seems to be many different methods requiring various other files, updates, etc. There were some REALLY good step by step videos on You Tube (I'm talking to you, DroidReview) but some of the ROMS he used weren't ones that I had an interest in for one reason or another.

I wish there was a decent "foundational" guide (like a Dummies book for Android root users). There are guides out there, but they seem to be lacking the "Dummy" instructions (for example, one guide I saw didn't tell you that you had to UNPLUG your phone from your PC prior to booting to recovery).

I'm going to research, read and get educated on this before I attempt this again. I've learned lots so far, and a HUGE thank you to everyone that has posted guides, etc. and answered questions. You guys ROCK!

If anyone knows of any foundational publications that would help- shoot me a pm! Thanks!

Advertisement
  2. Needsdecaf

Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

Welcome to the dark side. :)

What did you use to root? If you're running SPRecovery, I'd vote for AdamZ's smoked glass 6.0.1 with his low voltage kernel.

You made the right move!

3. The_Chief

The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

Welcome to the rooted world! :D