Topram 32GB MicroSD - Class 4?Accessories


Last Updated:

  1. eSanto

    eSanto Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5

    Advertisement
  2. MsRandall

    MsRandall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    70
    I am waiting for them to dropped to $120 bucks or so then I will pull the trigger
     
  3. Babbit

    Babbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    5
    Has anyone had any experience with the microsd cards from this company? Their 16GB class 4 is as cheap as other's class 2 cards.
     
  4. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    839
    They have topram on ebay too. I assume those are fake
     
  5. jimbomcgommy

    jimbomcgommy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry to threadjack.

    I recently have bought 2 32GB MicroSD cards from eBay. One from rothmanenterprises for $62 shipped and the other from grandtechdigital for $38.05. I honestly could not tell you if they are Class 2, 4 or 6 but what I can tell you is the one I have received so far from rothmanenterprises is legit. It works as advertised and I dont really notice the speed difference. Shipping was quick. I tried to get another one from him for my wifes EVO but I kept getting outbid so I tried elsewhere and just won the $38 today.

    The cards are all over eBay. Im not about to pay $200 for a card when eBay has a very similiar product for 1/5th of the price.

    Jimmy
     
    rtmeikle likes this.
  6. FestoKGB

    FestoKGB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    61
    I was about to bid on one of the 32GB cards from grandtechdigital but then I read the negative reviews from the last month and the majority were due to 32GB cards that appeared to be hacked to appear as 32GB. Customers were complaining that anything over 2GB on the card and they would get data corruption. Glad I didn't pull the trigger on that one.
     
  7. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    I'll wait. 32GB card prices will fall fast once more hit the market, and the top makers will either drop their prices or get stuck with useless inventory.
     
  8. J03

    J03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    66
    Ever stop to wonder why you were being outbid on the rothmanenterprises card but for some reason your bid for the grandtechdigital one went through for half the price? You just spent $38 for a $2 2GB card... if its too good to be true...
     
  9. gezzuzz

    gezzuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    it would be cool is someone made a microsd adapter.. you plug it into you microsd slot and a cable comes out of it.. its routed under the battery to the top of the battery under the speaker (there is a gap).. then the actual storage part could be alot bigger and alot cheaper.. (like 4 X 8 gig chips in a row).. maybe even exceed the 32 gig limitation
     
  10. jimbomcgommy

    jimbomcgommy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1

    And if it isnt the product as advertised I'll get my money back through PayPal and when the product is as advertised, I'll have a 32gb microSD card for $38. Im just looking to put the MAX card in there since HTC decided to put the card in the most ridiculous spot in the phone.

    Jimmy
     
  11. nickoakdl

    nickoakdl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    31
    Try to load 20 gb of data on there and see what happens.
     
    Bagua and ZNA03 like this.
  12. ZNA03

    ZNA03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3

    I thanked you because I second the motion. It's true, the easiest way to resolve this is to load the beast up.
     
  13. FestoKGB

    FestoKGB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    61
    My advice would be to make sure to back up data you load onto this card. If you get corruption of the data above 2GB and you don't have it backed up elsewhere then you are screwed.
     
  14. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,781
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    I agree. I got one of those from ebay and as soon as I tried to load up 32gb of data, it was clearly not a true 32gb card.

    The most I was able to save on the card was up to 5gb (from what I recall), the remainder of the 26.### gb turned all of the files into unusable files.

    When looking at the card through my laptop (windows explorer), using an SD adaptor, the unusable files showed chinese characters for the files. At first, I thought maybe a ton of my music was no good, but when I double checked the files on my laptop, they worked perfectly. I tried to delete all the files, but even after deleting all the files, I looked at the storage space and it only showed between 4-5gb every time. I repeated this process several times, but never had any success.

    Many people have been buying these and are able to see that 31.### gb are available when they first put the card in, not realizing that once they go past a certain amount of memory used, the rest of the data that they put on the card becomes unusable.
     
  15. rsa

    rsa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    24
    These counterfeit SD cards have been hacked to look like much higher capacity. As several have said, as soon as you go past the actual capacity of the unit you are simply writing data over data over data ending up with a corrupted FAT.

    You get what you pay for.
     
  16. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,781
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    Since this was my first experience with this, does anybody know how they are able to make the card initially show 32gb (or round about) of storage, even though the capacity is much less?
     

Share This Page

Loading...