Torch LightSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Hi All,

    Has anyone been able to set up Torch Light to be enabled by long-pressing Vol-Up while the screen is off?
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    59
    Is this an app or built in function? I use Tesla LED with Widget Locker to turn it on quickly, but I would like that.
     
  3. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I use Tesla too, but on 4.2.2 rom on S3 I was able to use vol up long press to activate it without external apps. Vol down turned it off. Very handy.
     
  4. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    Was that a stock Rom or were you rooted?I had my s2 set up for torch on lockscreen but that was custom Roms!
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Let me explain it to you:

    1. There is a stock 4.2.2 leaked ROM for Galaxy S3. I flashed that rom to find out, that htere is a hidden setting to enable torch light to be activated by llong pressing volup.
    2. I tried the same with S4 as it has that hidden setting too, and it does not work.
    3. I always root my phones first thing when I get them out of the box, but root has nothing to do with this.

    4. As for torch light on the lock screen, install Tesla LED and add it to lockscreen shortcuts.
     
  6. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672

    No problem, sorry for misunderstanding.... it's possible that it was only a trial feature if that wasn't an official stock Rom, I know there were several features available in the leaked s2 jellybean Rom that wasn't available in the official ones when they came out!

    what is the hidden setting on the s4?

    the feature I had with s2 was long press the home key for torch on lockscreen, I'm not bothered about it too much, certainly not fussed about widgets on it.

    Hope you find what you're after though, might just have to wait for it to appear on a custom Rom!
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Both roms are official, I did not mention unofficial ones at any point and am not interested in mostly-crippled unofficial ones.

    Hidden settings can be accessed via 3rd party launchers or shortcut apps.
     
  8. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    Sorry but you said leaked Rom...if it's leaked it isn't official! It may well be stock, just as the leaked lsj for the s2 was, certainly it wasn't crippled in any way! It was completely stock Samsung but as it was leaked it was not official! It is only official if it comes directly from Samsung/carrier through kies, ota and then Sam mobile may make it available!
     
  9. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    What is the hidden setting exactly?
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    You do not know how to access the hidden settings, yet you feel it necessary to educate me on definitions of leaked and official roms.

    Have you checked if it works on yours or are you just wasting time?

    P.S. I see you do not have S4, great contribution, mate.
     
  11. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    E.g. in Apex long press on h0me screen, choose shortcuts and then activities.
     
  12. thahim

    thahim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    20
    Not on s4
     
  13. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    I've just not updated my details on the side, I've had the s4 since week 1,I am rooted but still on stock!I was trying to see exactly what hidden settings you were referring to and as it is in apex launcher then that's a great start to being able to possibly help!

    As it is, it would appear that the feature you are after, as I tried to narrow down, was just a feature of the leaked Rom, something the Samsung developers were trying out, and we might see it in a future update!
     
  14. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Mate,
    I am not a newb you need to explain things like I am calling a help centre. Stop wasting my time if you do not know how to test it or what I am talking about.

    Do not take it personally, but what you are doing is commonly known as trolling.
     
  15. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    See I'd see it as you trolling, I was trying to help, only you made assumptions that everyone else here would know exactly what you were talking about! Like I said, it appears the feature you were after(which I'd quite like hence trying to know more about how you had it before) was only available in the leaked version for s3, with any luck they might make it available in the future!

    I'm sorry I've not been able to help, but if you read back what you have written you will see why there has been confusion!I can clearly see your not a noob with over 5000 posts however I've only ever tried to help!

    I have not had an s3, so this feature would be New to me, and how to access it if it isn't in the stock menus also New, as for the hidden settings, that's more a feature if apex launcher than on the s4 for example, hidden setting on the s4 would be developer mode by tapping build 7 times!

    Anyway,I don't appear to be able to find any setting for the feature you want on my s4 I9505!
     
    MISS DIVA likes this.
  16. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Activities menu is not an apex feature, it is something Apex and other apps give access to.
     
  17. lotus49

    lotus49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    230
    He wasn't trolling but you are being rude.
     
    sntaylor likes this.
  18. gregg1100

    gregg1100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    87
    I use Assistive Light-----on S3 and S4---in the widgets section----works well, very bright.
     
  19. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Yes, I am aware of this, but I want something that works without turning the screen on and unlocking the phone.

    Currently I have a shortcut to Tesla LED on the Lockscreen, but VolUp button was nicer.
     
  20. thahim

    thahim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    20
    You can make it in tasker through proximity sensor.
     
  21. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Tried shakes, but it does not work when screen is off
     
  22. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Just an update - works with XXUBMEA newest firmware.
     
  23. lotus49

    lotus49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    230
    Do you mean that it is enabled by default? If so, that is a useful feature.
     
  24. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I do not know if it is enabled by default, because I did enable it on the previous firmware and when I upgraded to the newer one I found out it was working just by accident.
     
  25. sntaylor

    sntaylor Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    672
    So what exactly did you do too get it working? Just so the rest of us can use it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...