Total android noob...root or not root my Evo?


Last Updated:

  1. OriginalGouveia

    OriginalGouveia New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if i should root my evo or not. I love most everything about it the way it is but there are certain things that drive me insane. If i root, can i run the phone exactly the same way as factory minus sprint football, nascar, sprint nav, qik, stocks, and footprints? Will i lose my camera? Or, should i just not root and get an extended life battery?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6

    That is the joy of rooting. You can remove what you want so long as it is not something the OS needs. You can remove all the sprint apps as well as apps that HTC put on it. If your comfortable doing it then I would advise it. Worse case scenario you just flash back to stock and go about your business.
     
  3. sweteg

    sweteg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    10
    You have to decide what you need. Rooting is fun since you can do pretty much anything you want. It takes some knowledge, so you should spend a few hours if needed and read through all the guides people have made. The Evo was my first Android phone and I have caught on pretty fast to the rooting scene. It's quite awesome.
     
  4. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    So does rooting void any warranty or insurance? What are the downsides to rooting? Can I do it now that I've done the update?

    Seriously considering Rooting with all the support those guys are giving over there. We'll never get that kind of support from Sprint/HTC. All I really want is better camera performance, froyo and wifi tethering.
     
  5. TambourineMan

    TambourineMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah, ditto on what are the risks?

    Especially as respects warranty/TEP replacement.

    I would like wifi tethering and I think it is ridiculous that you can't do a screen capture unless you're rooted.

    I guess the other risk/inconvenience is the hassle with respect to updates, but that' an acceptable one.
     
  6. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    You can do screen capture with ShootMe without root. It does void warranty but you can always go back to stock.
     
  7. FestoKGB

    FestoKGB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    61
    It appears that the latest update has broken the ability to use Shootme without root. I tried to use it this morning and I got a message saying I needed root access.
     
  8. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Time to root?

    I've been rooted for a few weeks now and haven't had any major issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...