Trackball to 'wake' phone from standbySupport


Last Updated:

  1. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Having come from an iPhone I find it somewhat annoying that I can't use the lovely trackball to wake my nexus one from standby.
    I realise it could be a problem if you pressed it in your pocket as it sticks out but I'd like to have the option to do it.

    Does anyone know if it is possible?
     

    Advertisement
  2. smitty24

    smitty24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    3
    its not. at least with the stock firmware. maybe root will let you? not sure...

    i know if you catch it soon enough after the screen cuts off, it will activate it, but probably not more than 15 seconds after...
     
  3. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    lame. i hate having to press the button THEN swipe... even if i could get rid of teh swipe that would be SOMETHING.
     
  4. zukbang

    zukbang Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use Lock 2.0 and track ball wakes the phone to lock screen.
     
  5. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    this has been suggested on the official google nexus one forums. go there and add your voice to the thread.
     
  6. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    lock 2.0 looks like an iphone skin. although it will probably get the job done, the slider was already there. i don't get why people buy these phones and then run apps to emulate iphone software on them.
     
  7. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeh I just checked out Lock 2.0 and it is just an iPhone skin. I only want the 'home button' click really. I much prefer the look of android to iPhone any day though :D
     
  8. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    yeah, and i'd have to buy it to get rid of the banner or change the background from the cheesy skull. im sure it's great for some people but im just not looking to take advantage of the full functionality of it, and i'm certainly not looking for a skin.
     
  9. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    one thing im not clear on. i thought android was open source. does that not extend to the apps used on it?
     
  10. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    handcent has options to use the iphone texting interface. i think it sucks. those bubbles just waste so much space.
     
  11. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe this applies to the Android software..as that's what "open source" means ..anybody with the knowledge can create something on the OS.

    Somebody correct me if I'm wrong here..
     
  12. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    it's a bit more complicated than that, because anyone with the knowledge can create apps/programs for windows, mac, apple, iphones, etc etc. these are not open source.

    open source means that the code itself has been made available to developers. you dont have to pay for it, you dont need to license your software then pay out royalties back to a parent company(google) like you would with other codes.

    also there is MUCH less filtering of the apps. the general argument is this means less Quality Control in the app store, but if you look at our app store, where we have a choice in browsers, and the iphone store where they have blocked introduction of several browsers to date, the advantages of open source go a bit deeper than simple QC. howevre, this is one of the reasons why the ranking/comment system is SO important in our app store; a lot of that stuff really isnt even beta, its alpha, and we are the testers, so it's buyer beware.
     
  13. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    I understand that ranking and comments are important but would you not agree that the Apple App store is far better than the android market in that the Apps are regulated and I'd say that the majority of the apps actually work as described? Needless to say, this could be done for the android market. But you would also be able to install third-party (non-android market) apps.
    I like how the android market has paid and free apps just like the app store but I'm constantly reminded how sloppy developers are when reading the endless 'this app doesnt work' comments and the like. It's a shame that there isn't any form of QC in the android market.
     
  14. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    i'd respectfully disagree. if you think about how long the itunes store has been selling apps v the android store, and then you think about the fact that the android apps had NO beta phase testing and in some cases no alpha phase testing, i think the android store is growing in leaps in bounds. the problem that arises is when people leave useless comments; ie "app sux" or worst app ever, uninstall". its the same as no comment at all. you need to know what the problem is with the product to fix it in an update, and thats what the comments are for, we are basically beta testers, and the comments are the android stores QC.

    so yes, on the surface, you have the itunes store which is moderated beating out the android store almost 6 to 1, but the idea is that the android store doesnt block ANYTHING out, there is no censorship whatsoever(or at least very little, i think you can report things as "offensive"), and more importantly if something comes along that muscles in on googles own software, google doesn't block it out the way that itunes does. for instance if you wanted to port over a version of safari for android and throw that in the app store, the only issue youd have would be with apple, since they would undoubtedly be sueing you for lots and lots of money. however, as i've mentioned before, apple blocks out apps that will compete with their stock software, imho because they dont welcome the competition
     
  15. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
  16. what29

    what29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    86
    Android noob here, how did you install that file. my phone is rooted if that matters

    Nevermind, did some homework and i figured it out, got it installed but cant seem to make it awake with the trackball
     
  17. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    what settings do you have enabled? also are you on alpha1 2 or 3? I tested it on a rooted Droid and a stock n1. can't attest to a rooted n1 though.
     
  18. what29

    what29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    86
    i have tried it with "use widget welcome screen as lockscreen" both on and off. also have toggled lockscreen skip both on and off. It does skip the lockscreen but still pushing the trackball does nothing. the otly other setting on ethe n1 are "place settings launcher in notification and keep screen awake" both of which have no effect on the trackball. i would not think rooted or unrooted should make a difference
     
  19. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    sounds like you are on alpha 2. try uninstalling and fling alph3. since it is working fine in mine to wake up with the trackball, it must make a dif, unless you are on a stock image and just overclocking the nexus.
     
  20. what29

    what29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    86
    Sorry, i am a complete android NOOB, came over from the iphone which i run the website activateiphone.net so i can figure my way around but does take me some time.

    I am on a stock image as i did not install any alpha, not even sure what that is. Really just rooted to do it, had messed with the CPU settings but uninstalled the app. My main purpose of rooting was to get the trackball leds working but no go yet, again, i am still learning android. thanx for any direction you can point me in
     
  21. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    well the only versions out for this are alpha versions. there are 1, 2, and then if you click on show all downloads it will show you alpha 3. this also includes the option "shake to wake up" or as I like to call it, wake up while walking around in my pocket. you may have more success with this version
    you will need to uninstall the Old version first.
     
  22. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    well the only versions out for this are alpha versions. there are 1, 2, and then if you click on show all downloads it will show you alpha 3. this also includes the option "shake to wake up" or as I like to call it, wake up while walking around in my pocket. you may have more success with this version
    you will need to uninstall the Old version first.
     
  23. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    10
    Change the damn missleading topic of this thread... It doesn't wake on trackball press...
     
  24. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    yes, it does.
     
  25. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    10
    NO IT DOESN'T.... atleast mine doesn't .. i dunno what crap you have installed on there. I'm running 2.1update1 and it doesn't wake the phone only the power button does.
     

Share This Page

Loading...