Transfer Photos to PC with Windows XP


Last Updated:

  1. Bimmerphile

    Bimmerphile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any tips on how to do this? I heard some rumor a while ago that plugging the Captivate into a computer could wipe out some of your data.

    Just want to to get some input on how to go about it.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    ive never had anything wiped when i did it. you can use photobucket though and upload them all to the site then save them to your computer, ive done that a time or 2 but if you have alot it would take literally forever.

    i wouldnt worry about plugging it in too much, i do it all the time
     
  3. rbtconsultants

    rbtconsultants Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just use ES File Explorer and WIFI. Works great, no wires (although plugging in works fine also, I use the wire to sync music with Win Media Player).

    Bob
     
  4. Bimmerphile

    Bimmerphile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, it's good to know I can do it wirelessly. But I don't mind plugging it in, I was just wondering more along the lines of what I have to do to the phone/computer to export the photos once it's plugged in.
     
  5. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    Once you've got the phone mounted, it'll show up just like any USB drive, you just navigate to the DCIM folder on the phone (via Winders
     
  6. Bimmerphile

    Bimmerphile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you
     
  7. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
  8. kcdk99

    kcdk99 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. NatesMom

    NatesMom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    14
    Sounds like it's trying to use Kies software, which I believe was the default setting.

    Go to Settings > applications > USB settings. I have mine set to "Ask on Connection".

    From there, you can either move your media files using an installed 'Media Player' or 'Mass Storage' which allows you to see your SD card contents in XP File Manager/Explorer and copy files accordingly like any mounted drive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...