Transfering file from SD card


Last Updated:

  1. Shofar

    Shofar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have just bought a new 32 GB SD card.

    Made a folder on my PC and copied the content of the original SD card to folder.

    New folder on PC says contents 950 mb.

    Original SD card in Desire is 2.6 GB used space.

    What have I missed.
    Is there a better way to transfer content of Old SD card to new.

    What is RAW format? (Format of old SD card in phone.)
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    RAW format means its not formatted or it has lost its FAT32 formatting.

    That method should be fine. Have you got any apps installed on the old card?
     
  3. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    Have you partitioned your sd card by any chance?
    Also if you got something like astro file on your phone & set to install caches to sd card, that will use space which you probably cant copy over.

    Guess you type quicker than me lol
     
  4. Shofar

    Shofar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes and they didn't seem to make the copy procedure: select all, copy to folder.

    Will try again.

    So the Desire/Android SD card should be FAT 32?

    Thanks
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Indeed.

    What method for installing apps on the SD card did you use? the froyo "Move to SD card" method? If so, try moving them back to the phone.
     
    Shofar likes this.
  6. Shofar

    Shofar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes the FROYO method. Though most of my apps did not have the option.

    Phone unlocked, unbranded, sim free but not rooted.

    I will try it thanks.
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Cool, let us know how you get on.
     
  8. Shofar

    Shofar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    11
    Followed your method and move the (only 2) apps back to phone. Copied all and then put in new SIM and copied back to it from PC.

    All seems to have gone well.
    When I put in the new "Verizon" card I planned to format it, but wasn't given the option. It doesn't look like Verizon dumped any of their propriatory stuff on there anyway.

    anoniemouse: Have astro but didn't know that I could move Cache to SD. Is this a app to card move or a "move all caches to app?

    Do you have to go to app first?
    New to Android system.

    Thanks for the help.

    Shofar
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Astro just has an option in its menu to store its own cache on SD card. That's what anoniemouse is referring too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...