Traveling oversea


Last Updated:

  1. rweddy

    rweddy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I am traveling to UK next week for business.
    Is there a way to use the GPS stand alone?
    I wanted to use the APP Sporty Pal but when I turn off the radio the app just spins and has "Initializing GPS" and then times out.

    I have tried to do this with WiFi connect also to see if it needed something data wise to get started but same results.

    Any ideas or other apps that track your runs that can use GPS only?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kilikas

    kilikas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try reinstalling the application, usually the first time takes a while for initializing the GPS, other than that I don't know what might be the problem.
     
  3. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I read somewhere that google maps nav. only works in the USA. Maybe you need a different map.IDK
     
  4. Eurosteve

    Eurosteve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    4
    Check out "My Tracks" in the market. The developers website, in the FAQ states:

    "A cell signal or data connection is not required to record GPS tracks. However, if there is no data connection, you will not be able to see satellite imagery or a map. Instead, you will see a grey screen or partial map. Tracks, represented as simple lines, can still be recorded even if there is no data connection."
     
  5. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Sounds like you need a downloaded map to pair with that app.
    I am referring to an offline map for when there is no data.
     
  6. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    Try Maverick pro, that's what I'm using when traveling overseas. You can use atlas creator to create the maps that you store on your microsd card. It doesn't give directions, but will show your position on the map.
     
  7. agemme27

    agemme27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    you know, I never thought of this before. What does and doesn't work over in europe? Wifi? GPS? does Verizon have a program for people who travel?
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    WiFi will work anywhere in the world that has a wireless network. GPS will work anywhere in the world as long as you can see the sky. Google Maps/Nav would need a data connection to work, one way to do this is setup your route while connected to WiFi then you will be all set, just don't go off route or make a wrong turn. The best way to do this is download CoPilot from the market, it costs $35 I think and you can choose USA or other countries. It will download all the maps so then you can use it as a stand alone GPS unit.
     
  9. raremage

    raremage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    They have an all you can eat plan for international travel, I think - see GlobalEmail
     
  10. rweddy

    rweddy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I use this app frequently here in the states with no issues. But to test it out before I go over there I turned of the cellr radio on my phone and the app won't work. I tired with with the cell radio turned off and WiFi on and it still doesn't work.
     
  11. rweddy

    rweddy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Cellular wont work overseas in most locations because their networks are GSM not CDMA. My old Storm had both GSM & CDMA radios, that is really the only thing I will miss about that phone :p

    WiFi will work fine, and I think GPS will work but I am not sure if the GPS in the Droid is a true stand alone GPS or an a-GPS (assisted GPS).

    I am not really worried about maps working I want my running app to track my mileage (distance ran) time, etc. I don't really care if it shows me where I ran in relation to the map.
     
  12. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    It is a true stand alone GPS and doesn't need to have any cellular assistance. To check this for yourself put the phone in airplane mode then turn on the GPS and use a app like GPS Status.
     
  13. rweddy

    rweddy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok well that is good to know, maybe this is just a issue/bug with Sporty Pal :confused:

    Anyone else use Sporty Pal App?
    If so can you do this test:

    * Turn phone off/ then on.
    * Turn off radio or put into airplane mode
    * Turn on GPS or make sure it is on
    * Launch Sporty Pal and try to do a new workout
     
  14. Droid-DC

    Droid-DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I’m about to go to Europe too, made maps for Orux, and after some research realized I wasted my time, and that it won’t work for the following reason:

    Most phones, as with the Droid, with "GPS" in fact use A-GPS technology. The "A" stands for assisted, and means that the phone relies on the network for help in determining location. Although the phone does receive GPS signals directly from the satellites, it can't determine actual location without help from the cell network.

    gpsOne is a position location technology developed by SnapTrack, a subsidiary of Qualcomm. GpsOne is an A-GPS technology, meaning it uses GPS satellites in conjunction with land-based stations (towers) to determine a phone’s location.

    Phones with gpsOne can receive raw signals directly from GPS satellites, but require a live connection to a network-based location server to do so. The location server helps the phone find the correct satellites. The location server also processes the raw signals and makes the final calculations that determine location.

    gpsOne is integrated into most Qualcomm CDMA chipsets, and is the position location technology used by most CDMA carriers.

    Read more GPS vs. A-GPS: A Quick Tutorial: http://www.wmexperts.com/articles/gps_vs_agps_a_quick_tutorial.html
     
  15. TXLady

    TXLady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes and no. The Droid is CDMA and will not work overseas except in scant few locations since most of the world is GSM.

    If you had a phone such as the BB Tour or Storm which have both CDMA and GSM, you could get an international plan from Verizon.
     
  16. rweddy

    rweddy Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is what I found out, the hard way. I had the storm before but could never go back to a BB after having a a rooted droid. So I just used my world Razor with an explorer world sim card. I don't travel much internationally anymore and with my new job in 3 weeks never so not too worried about it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...