Tried CM6 Test 8 Rom... Going back to Stock 2.1!


Last Updated:

  1. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178
    So I just tried the CM6 Test 8 rom.

    First rom i ever flashed to my phone.

    And after playing around with it.. My conclusion is..

    I miss Sense!

    Going back to my Sense now. Will wait until there is a Sense Froyo out.
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'm running cm6 test 8 right now and I love it! I only miss the facebook contact picture sync but I found an app that does it for me. I used launcher pro on stock rom too. What parts of sense do you miss?
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    I ran it for awhile too. The camera fix was nice but it broke again when flashing the new Hydra kernel. Looks to me like they're getting close to a fully functional ROM. I went back to test 7 for now.
     
  4. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178
    I missed the whole sense ui..

    The weather and clock widget. Favorite widget... Leap Feature rules

    My layout just seemed to flow better and vanilla android is just plain to me.

    I've tried to use the other programs to change it around and nothing to me compares...

    I think I just lucked out though... Rebooted into recovery did Nandroid backup... It took forever, seemed like it kept scrolling through same things and i did battery pull.

    Loaded it up though and everything works fine... Screens back to way they were and didnt have to use restore anything.

    Back in my comfortable zone I guess. I never used vanilla android before and I think im too use to Sense.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Once you get accustomed to leap, its like quitting crack cold turkey.
     
    8andsand likes this.
  6. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest

    What app? Phonebook 2.0?
     
  7. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Nope, syncbook. It's pretty good, but you might get some force closes
     
  8. 8andsand

    8andsand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    13
    Your right it wont work with hydra kernal. I tried that too right after I installled. Hopefully someone can get the hydra kernals working with it. But right now I guess you have to choose between hydra or a working camera.

    As far as everything else goes I love this rom. I didn't use any of the sense stuff so I dont miss any of that. The only thing I did like was the clock/weather widget. Beautiful widgets takes the place of it nicely and it is more customizable. There is even a couple different cyanogen mod themes to make the clock match everything.
     
  9. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    And if you miss the HTC clock, just google Fancy Widget .apk, it was a clone of it that got pulled from the market.
     
  10. PaulG1488

    PaulG1488 Guest

    Try skyraider rom 1.9 its a 2.2 froyo rom with sense
     
  11. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    agreeed ^ i was gonna say the same thing... its the best of both worlds
     
  12. GreGGo

    GreGGo Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sky Raider is the way to go. It's on ROM manager. Download the 1.9b beta, then the camera fix, and you are good to go. Even has sense. It's twice as fast and just the same UI. I got an 1148 on quadrant running the Sky Raider-Sense with SetCPU set to max at 998.
     
  13. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178

Share This Page

Loading...