trouble installing custom rom


Last Updated:

  1. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    just downgraded my t mobile hero from 2.73.110 to 2.73.405.5 using the goldcard method. have used instant root and it says i have root access.
    so iv tried putting modaco 3.2 on by copying it to sd renaming it update and accessing root menu then wiping and flashing from sd card but it never works! iv tried renaming it update and update.zip am i doing anything wrong? iv also tried putting the stickman 2.1 with sense rom on but that dont work either.
    Any help will be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hi first of all, the Custom ROM that is on your SD card does not need to be renamed. This was the case a few months back but now you no longer need to rename the file "update" ... If you do, make sure the file is called "update" and not "update.zip" as this will turn it into "update.zip.zip"

    Next what happens when you do the following:-

    Can you follow these instructions below and then see what happens?

    Switch off the phone, switch it back on holding home key & power key.
    Doing this should take you to a boot screen / recovery menu. If nothing happens and the phones boots up normally you have missed out many steps and you need to follow the instructions below..

    You can't just install a custom ROM from the SD card. You need to boot into the recovery screen. To do so you need Amon Ra using Flashrec.

    All the information is provided here

    Start from Step 2 (as you have said you have already successfully used instant root)
     
  3. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    done everything you said it failed again. root menu says:
    build cyanogen v1.4 + jf
    -installing new image!
    -press home to confirm, or other to abort
    -install drom sd card
    finding update package...
    opening update package...
    E: cant open /sdcard/update.zip
    (no such file or directory)
    installation aborted.
     
  4. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    hmm you are using Cyanogen mod. I have not used this... I have always used Amon RA.

    Lets install Amon Ra instead of Cyanogen. To do so do this:

    =======================================================================
    2. Copy the Amon Ra recovery image to the root of sdcard ( not in any folder )

    3. Copy flashrec to the root of your sdcard

    4. Install flashrec (Use a file explorer like astro)

    5. Open flashrec. Then, Back up your recovery on first screen then in address bar put /sdcard/(ur amonra recoveryname with .img) and press flash. Typically it will be like this
    /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img

    Your done! Switch off the phone, switch it back on holding home key & power key

    You should see a new recovery menu and at the bottom it will say Amon Ra 1.6.2 .. when this is done follow these instructions (steps 7-9) or post back here.
    ========================================================================

    If that fails try this:

    1) Go to the market and install an app called Terminal emulator.
    2) Make sure recovery-RA-hero-v1.6.2.img is on your SD card. Not in any folders, but the root of your card.

    3) Open the Terminal app and type in the following commands. (enter) means press the enter button lol. :D.. please not the SPACES. This is important.

    su (enter)
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-dream-v1.6.2.img(enter)
    reboot recovery (enter)

    See if that works. I did it yesterday as I updated from 1.5.2 to 1.6.2 and it did not says 'successful' or anything so to see if it works power off your phone. Turn it on holding the power and home button.

    You should see a new recovery menu and at the bottom it will say Amon Ra 1.6.2 .. when this is done follow these instructions (steps 7-9) or post back here.
     
  5. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    first one failed can flash image but cannot get into a root menu then nothing happens goona try other now
     
  6. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    cannot do terminal as i am unable to type for some reason? no keyboard pops out
     
  7. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Ok what you do is click menu within the terminal app

    and click on reset term.

    app should close.

    open app again and keyboard should be there
     
  8. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    reset still dont work also uninstalled it and reinstalled it no keyboard?
     
  9. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    oMg are you serious lol.

    It worked for me just now.. ohh lol :mad:

    How and why did you install Cyanogen?

    Can you try another terminal app from the market... just search terminal.. and try the commands / see if keyboard pops up.

    After all this I can't believe that you can't ge tthis to work. It has to work as you have downgraded your rom and rooted.. try and try again.
     
  10. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    not sure what cyanogen is if its the recovery image just installed that one because amons didnt work installed it via flashrec
     
  11. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    so if you installed it via flashrec and it worked...

    have you tried installing Amon Ra via flashrec?

    I know you said it did not work but it should and if it does not (it did not for me yesterday) the terminal thing will install it (worked for me yesterday).

    Then after that you can easily install the custom rom.

    Cyanogen is a recovery image but Amon Ra is better as it has more features.

    What you need to do is flash Amon Ra.

    Then put the custom rom on your sd card (root of SD) and then you can flash it.

    Try to use google as many other people have had problems but they have fixed it. I am finding it difficult to find out what stage you are at / what is wrong . Sorry :( But I'll try to help.

    Edit: The Cyanogen Mod is not even supported for the HTC Hero. This is where your problem lies I think.
    However there is an unofficial 1.0 here which supports the Hero.. yet you have 1.4 ... did you not read this before flashing?

    Hence I am really confused as to why you are using Cyanogen....
     
  12. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    not sure what app i can use tried command executer but really slow and not working properly
     
  13. cap8000

    cap8000 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank for the help gta go work now will try again 2moz thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...