Trouble updating to Fresh 3.3 ....


Last Updated:

  1. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Somewhat new to rooting on android. Rooted with unrevoked 3.2 put fresh 3.2 rom on. Tried to update with fresh updater didn't work. I got the triangle with the exclamation upon hitting update in fresh updater. I then downloaded off flipz website with the download. Went into recovery and didn't see it. I did have it directly on the sd card not under any folders.

    I saw on updater where it said to use amonra recovery or manually use clockwork recovery but I have no clue what those are or how to use them. Any help is greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    75
    Download Rom Manager from the market to flash Clockwork or Amon recovery.

    Though I must say, if you don't even know what a recovery is, I don't think you should be flashing anything.


    But if you still decide to, make sure you wipe everything before flashing if it says to.

    And I'd recommend for you to do it through Rom Manager.

    After you install the Recovery of choice, find the option to install a ROM on the list, go through your SD to the correct one you want to flash and git r done
     
  3. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    I know what recovery is. I don't know what flashing it manually means. When I flashed 3.2 fresh the .zip file showed up under recovery install from sd card. The 3.3 fresh .zip file I downloadfrom flipz page did not show up. I noticed under astro that the 3.2 and 3.3 files look different. The 3.2 file is a box with papers on top. The 3.3 file is a a sheet of paper file named .zip partial (my folder view is set to icons)
     
  4. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    75
    Manually means booting into recovery (Vol down, power) which will bring you to the recovery with all the options.
     
  5. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    The update 3.3 file won't show up under instal from sd. The files like this under astro.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. biblefreak

    biblefreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    20
    Did you download from your phone? If so, try downloading from your pc and put the .zip file on the root of your drive by mounting your phone as a disk drive.
     
    HTCeasar likes this.
  7. sam9696

    sam9696 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you just need to use root explorer to highlight and "move" the new file from the downloads folder on SD card to the root (no folder) of SD card
     
  8. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    You are on the right track,that can be done with any file manager Astrology for instance.
     
  9. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Downloading from your phone does not have anything to do with the file not showing up,you just need to know where to locate what you download to your phone.The file should be on your download folder,move and paste out of that folder reboot into recovery and flash.
     
  10. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    I ended up downloading it from the pc and moved it to the phone. The file would only download partially on my Evo for some reason. I've downloaded roms off my Evo with no problem. IDK
     
  11. Meltz014

    Meltz014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    One more thing, going from 3.2 to 3.3, I'm pretty sure you will have to do a full data wipe. So make a titanium backup for your apps and settings, then a nandroid backup for a failsafe, do a data wipe/factory reset, flash 3.3, and restor e your titanium backup. You'll probably have to flash the updated pri (on fresh's website) as well. Good luck!
     
  12. I Like Soup

    I Like Soup Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Methinks that is not true. Just a cache/Dalvik cache wipe should be good enough.
     
  13. Meltz014

    Meltz014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    10
    Oh you're right :/ I just checked flipz' site and i guess that data wipe was for the 3.2 update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...