Trouble with rm


Last Updated:

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    I'm happily rooted and wanting to remove bloat.

    I did this:
    $ ./adb-mac shell
    # su
    # mount
    rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
    tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
    tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
    none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,cpu 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system yaffs2 ro 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock6 /data yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
    /dev/block/mtdblock5 /cache yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
    tmpfs /app-cache tmpfs rw,size=8192k 0 0
    # mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock04 /system
    # cd system/app
    # ls Sprint*
    SprintTVWidget.apk
    Sprint_App_Updater.apk
    Sprint_NASCAR.apk
    Sprint_NFL.apk
    Sprint_Navigation.apk
    Sprint_Promotion.apk
    Sprint_Qik.apk
    Sprint_TV.apk
    Sprint_VVM.apk
    # rm Sprint_NASCAR.apk


    And I got:

    rm failed for Sprint_NASCAR.apk, Directory not empty


    Naturally, the next thing I tried was "rm -rf" and then "rm -f" -

    I'm doing something idiotically wrong, I'm sure.

    PS - I picked up adb from the evo-recovery link here: http://www.androidspin.com/2010/06/03/root-guide-for-the-htc-evo/

    PPS - Naturally, I threw a "ls -l" in a previous session, and saw permissions were at 644 (no directory bit set, but I take that as a side-effect of the compact ls in adb/shell). And yes, I'm rooted - per the idiot's guide, this forum (worked great for me!).
     

    Advertisement
  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    nevermind the nevermind.

    The apk files seemed to delete - not showing in ls - despite the rm error.

    Looked in Astro - they were there. Rebooted - they were there.


    Will stop now and hope for help before I do anything further stooopid.

    Thanks in advance to anybuddy that can square me away on this.
     
  3. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    It's a lot easier to just load Titanium Backup free version on your phone and hit the "delete" button on any bloatware you don't want (if your phone is fully rooted of course). If you make a backup first you can easily restore if you change your mind.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Really? That's it?!?!

    MANY thanks.

    Naturally, I did follow EVERY step to the letter in this forum's Idiot Guide (no way am I going to question TheBiles on any of this!!) to Rooting, and so yes, I already have Titanium and already made a backup (and an off-phone backup of my backup).

    Somewhere I read it was more difficult with Titanium...

    Idiot-proof my foot. They just invented a better idiot - yours truly. ;)


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~


    I have something wrong. I'm not seeing a Delete button in Titanium.
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    For anyone else with this problem - follow the later instructions, do the NAND thing, it's not optional.

    After that, rm in adb works.

    Buh bye Sprint bloatware!
     

Share This Page

Loading...