Trouble with Rom manager and roms


Last Updated:

  1. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I get the 2nd leak of froyo 2.2 the updated version via update.zip method.. I then learn about Rom manager app, And get both the free and paid versions..I go to download/install the downloaded rom's from the rom manager and every time it reboots it doesn't work..I've been trying to get BB 1.1 with smoked glass, And it'll download, But wont install!?.. Any thoughts/suggestions as to what's going wrong!?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Sounds like it's not going into recovery for you. Try flashing an older version of clockwork recovery and then flash the latest. That should do the trick for you.
     
  3. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Once it downloads, there should be a box asking if you want to wipe data, and also make a current backup. If you dont see that, then something is haywire before then. Usually, when that comes up, I select whatever I want, and it does its thing.
     
  4. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    I do see that screen, "wipe data/backup" But I swore I saw a video that said not to check either of them..Are you saying I should check both the boxes before installing/restarting any downloaded roms from the rom manager?
     
  5. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Depends on what ROMs you are going from--->to.

    Best bet, check both, and try it. Just make sure to backup apps, etc. with TiBu.
     
  6. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    If your phone just boots up after that, and nothing changes, and you cannot see any files changing, then you have a Recovery issue. Follow the info Papadroid posted.
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    as papadroid said this is a recovery issue. Flash either SPR or an old CW recovery then flash back to the current and you will be fine
     
  8. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you guys so much, I will put your suggestions to the test in a bit and let you know if it works!...
     
  9. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    How exactly do I flash an older version of clockwork, just wanna make sure before I do anything..Can I do it with rom manager!? Sorry, yes I get paranoid when I do stuff like this..Just rather be safe then sorry!
     
  10. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Open ROM Manager

    Very Bottom

    [All ClockworkMod Recoveries]

    Flash it. Then come back in and update.
     
  11. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    down at the bottom of rom manager is all clockworkmod recoveries
     
  12. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I did what ya'll said, flashed to an older clockwork recovery thingy, and downloaded ultimate droid froyo version rom or whatever, And it pretty much wiped everything off my phone..And now I am unable to recover any of my app's, even when signed into my gmail account..So everything I paid for in terms of app's appears to be gone..thankfully my contacts still show up..I'm kind of upset by this, And I don't think I have any recent backups as well.. *tear*
     
  13. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132


    Did you not update back to the most recent Clockword, before going to Ultimate Droid?

    Also, with Froyo, it took some time for the apps to restore. Not sure if this is your case of not, but give it a bit.
     
  14. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Thats an easy fix. Just download this MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service and install it as a zip in recovery.
     
  15. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    I tried to flash back to the most recent one yes, but it kept giving me an error, I thought it would be ok to just stay with the previous version..Apparently not..

    And how long is "A bit" when waiting for ur apps to sync back up!?
     
  16. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    It should have started.

    Use OMJ's method. I am sure he is correct on it.
     
  17. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
  18. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3
    I downloaded and installed the fix, doesn't seem to be working yet.. :(
     
  19. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    sounds like an issue with that rom. If you search to apps you have purchased do they show up?

    Any apps you purchased within 24hours of wiping your phone would have counted as being refunded and you wont be charged for them. Perhaps thats the issue.
     
  20. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    No, App's I have purchased have not shown up.. :(
     
  21. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Me, I would go back into ROM Manager, and flash a different ROM. Then see what happens. Since you have nothing left, I would wipe data/cache, all that jazz.
     
  22. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    I forgot I just did a backup, so I restored that, And everything is back to normal...I installed bugless beast 1.1 from the rom manager app, And when it went to reboot the LED flashed red, And it doesn't appear to have installed the bugless beast 1.1... I'm getting uber frustrated over here...Thanks to those who have replied to my messaged and attempted to help, I appreciate it..
     
  23. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    All purchased apps after 24 hours are tied to your account and will reinstall after signing back in (assuming date/cache was wiped for a fresh install) and in fact all free apps that are installed should redownload automatically as well. I have about 19 apps and it takes usually 10-15 minutes after completing the setup wizard and logging into my google account.

    Definitely sounds like a ROM issue, as a similar situation also happened to me as well with 1.2 of the Onix froyo ROM.

    I restored my previous ROM backup, (in your case flash the current recovery in clockwork as well), and redownloaded the same ROM and flashed again. Everything worked after the second install.

    It sounds like a possible recovery issue and a bad download of the ROM you flashed.
     
  24. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    Now that all is well with your ROM, flash an older clockwork or the SPRecovery and then flash the current clockwork recovery. Once clockwork is up to date try flashing best 1.1 again and post an update.
     
  25. Vanteal

    Vanteal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    3

    It says I'm using current recovery Clockworkmod 1.8.1.8.. I go to flash 1.8.2.1 and it gives me "An error occured while flashing your recovery" error..

    Does it matter how old the recovery is?..or does it have to be the most recent of the older versions!?..
     

Share This Page

Loading...