• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Trouble with Samsung Kies, Device not supported?

Padwah65

Lurker
Oct 24, 2012
Hi guys

I'm very new to this, so please have patience with me.
So here goes, I have a question, one which I am sure you have encountered before.
Just purchased a Galaxy SIII, downloaded Kies, connected my device, then was informed that my device was not supported.
Help!
Cheers.

Hi guys

I'm very new to this, so please have patience with me.
So here goes, I have a question, one which I am sure you have encountered before.
Just purchased a Galaxy SIII, downloaded Kies, connected my device, then was informed that my device was not supported.
Help!
Cheers.

first thing i would try is when you connected via usb cable pull dow the notification pannel on the phone and you should see "connect as...." tap this and confirm connect as MTP device is ticked

Upvote 0
I have a similar problem ...

Noob to Android; please explain any help carefully!

Problem:
* Kies won't recognise my phone: "This device is not supported by Kies 2.0. Make sure that your device is supported and try again."

What I have:
* Samsung S3 GT-I9300
* Kies 2.5.0.12094_28_8
* Odin3 3.04

What I've done:
* Rooted phone with CF-Root-SGS3-v6.0
* Installed CWM (to backup original ROM)
* Upgraded to JB using odin (wrong region)
- - Original firmware (AP:I9300BVALF4, CP:I9300BVLF2, CSC:I9300FTMALF4)
- - Current firmware (AP:I9300XXDLJ4, CP:I9300XXDLID, CSC:I9300OXADLJ4)

Possible problems:
* Rooting phone breaks kies?
* Installing CWM breaks kies?
* Upgrading firmware breaks kies?
* Using wrong firmware region breaks kies?
* Wrong CSC selected?
* Kies needs flash count at 0 (i.e. use triangle away)?

Desired outcome:
* Kies working
* Unbranded/debranded Android JB

What I've tried:
* Kies troubleshoot connection error
* USB debugging is unchecked (have checked/unchecked)
* Changing CSC (using CSC changer)