trying, but not succeeding


Last Updated:

  1. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need help please. I too am a total noob. I know I'm rooted since I see the #. How do I know if I did the recovery correctly? I also don't think I have the rom thing figured out. I put the rom file on the sd card, but when I go into recovery mode it does not find it and it says that it can't find the recovery. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. n1ghtwish

    n1ghtwish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    did you run through the ADB commands to install the recovery image?
     
  3. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    when I type in exactly what is there it says that adb cannot be found
     
  4. n1ghtwish

    n1ghtwish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    1) is your phone in debug mode?
    2) do you have the proper ADB drivers installed on your computer?
     
  5. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it is in bebug mode. I don't know about the drivers. How do I tell?
     
  6. nova77

    nova77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    That should been done when you download the sdk and download all available packages (unless you specified which ones)
    Also Make sure the prompt is in the right directory
     
  7. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I am reading the initial how to correctly, if I see the # then it should be ok. I really feel like I am showing just how non-techie I am. What do you mean by the prompt in the right directory?
     
  8. nova77

    nova77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    The command line where you put the command "adb shell" needs to be in your sdk tools directory.
     
  9. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is in the tools directory at the top where I type adb shell and then the cmd window opens and shows the #
     
  10. nova77

    nova77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Then that means your rooted
     
  11. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but it will not recognize adb in the command prompt for me to execute the commands.
     
  12. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Whenever you try to run an ADB command, try looking at your phones screen and see if its asking for permission. If so, hit "always allow". I've seen someone else run in to this issue before.
     
  13. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never seen it ask this. This whole thing is kind of fun/frustrating. I am learning stuff for sure and appreciate everyones help and suggestions.
     
  14. Conap

    Conap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    38
    Make sure you are typing the commands from the prompt and not from adb shell....you should not see the # when you are typing the commands just the regular androidsdk/tools> or something close to that. also you can copy and paste the commands in so that you don't have to worry about typing something wrong...
     
  15. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok. Thanks I don't think I tried that.
     
  16. jimrockford

    jimrockford Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all I finally got it. Man, I have such a feeling of accomplishment as dumb as that may sound to some. Well on to the next thing and probably more questions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...