Trying to root as we speak and I need HELP!


Last Updated:

  1. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I downloaded the prekitchen thing and then saved the auto-root fix into the folder replacing the previous prekitchen exe. When I clicked the question mark everything came back ok except there was a red X by the remount and a question mark. Do I continue to root or do I need to fix that?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Danokan

    Danokan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    18

    Don't do ANYTHING until all green.
     
  3. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I checked again and there's still a red X by the mount. Any ideas what's wrong?
     
  4. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    The tutorial specifically say do not mount SD card. Someone please help!
     
  5. Danokan

    Danokan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    18
    I would disconnect phone and start over.
     
  6. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I AM SO IRRITATED!!!!! I've disconnected and tried over and over and over. This is not a good sign if I can't even get through the diagnostic test. I am SERIOUSLY about ready to throw the phone and computer across the room! I've been trying to do this now for over 2 hours! Seriously. I need help. Anyone??????????????????
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Not trying to discourage you, but what is your reason for rooting, what do you hope to accomplish?

    Have you tried a hard reset followed by trying to re-root? Tried rooting the long way?
     
  8. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I want my phone to be faster as it is soooo slloooowwww right now. I haven't rooted at all yet. I just started by trying to do the onetouch method. it's obviously not working. seriously, i need help!!! no one seems to have an answer.
     
  9. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    have you done your research on rooting? Certainly doesn't look like it, as there's a dozen threads on this same topic from the past few days, with plenty of links in those threads.

    I don't want to sound mean, but if you haven't done your research, you can really screw things up with root access. Check the tutorial at the top of this page, and the threads/guides over at XDA and you'll be good to go.
     
  10. Danokan

    Danokan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    18
    melnybeth

    I understand your frustration.

    Is your phone still working? If it is.. then calm down a little bit. No harm no foul at this point.

    You might want to start from scratch.

    #1. Disconnect phone
    #2. Uninstall or delete all Pre-Kitchen files on CPU
    #3. Reboot CPU and phone

    Start the process of downloading, replacing the Pre-Kitchen.exe file and then try the phone.
     
  11. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok. I'm calm. Sorry, it's just frustrating! :/
    I have done research. i've been reading nonstop and finally decided to do this. I don't know where i'm messing up. All I know is when I plug my phone in and run the check from the prekitchen app prior to rooting EVERYTHING has a green check mark except for the remount box. I've re-downloaded prekitchen and disconnected my phone. I keep getting the response that my debugging is either off (which it isn't...it's checked), i'm not running a fresh rom (no idea what that even means), or my phone is not connected (which it is). Hmmmm...... not sure where to go from here. I appreciate the help and sorry if I sounded edgy...i was frustrated but i'm calmer now! :)
     
  12. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have tried on 3 different phones and could never get the kitchen to work, I always had to manually root and install the image. Really not that big of a deal. Install the SDK and follow directions, takes about 3 minutes.
     
  13. Twice

    Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0

    there are people here WAY smarter than me when it comes to this stuff but you say you re-downloaded pre-kitchen. Did you download the new .exe too?
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    yeah, isn't there an update for the kitchen for the auto-rooter that he didn't put in the download itself? I've never messed with the auto rooter, I do it manually, and advocate doing it manually at least once to learn the processes behind it.
     
  15. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I guess I could just manually root but what are the risks or bricking my phone? I would obviously follow the directions closely but what if I get confused? Maybe this is a bad idea. I've just read everywhere about how much faster the phone is and seen videos of rooted phones zipping. mine is so stinking slow. the browser takes forever to even load and i've only had it a week and have less than 10 apps on it. i wonder if i could find someone around where i live to root it for me! LOL!
     
  16. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Rooting itself doesn't make your phone any faster, in fact it doesn't really make any changes at all. It's what you do with that ability that makes your phone faster.

    Clear the cache on your browser and other apps, as that will help a bit. Also, clear out your text messages if you've got quite a few built up.

    Rooting manually is actually pretty simple if you follow the guide. There's no risk that I know of of bricking your phone. In fact, the only way to brick these phones that I've seen is to flash a ROM or update for the GSM phones.

    However, once you have root, DO A BACKUP. I always do a backup before any major changes, and still have the backup from when I rooted in December. That way, if anything goes wrong, you can go right back to where you started.
     
  17. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have said it before and will state it again, if you do not "understand" what you are doing, do not do it. Cause something will go wrong and you will have no idea how to fix it. Do not just blindly follow someone's instructions, for all you know they are an Apple fanboi trying to get you to brick your phone.

    I read for 2 weeks before I rooted. I wanted to understand what a ROM is, what rooting changed, where the cache is, etc. When I had problems, I knew how to fix it already.
     
  18. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    My understanding is that the phone flies when it's rooted. If that is not the case I might not even bother! I tried to start to manually root but I was having issues even finding the htc sync in the folder on my sd card! I need a really easy tutorial that breaks it down from the very beginning like to access the htc sync do this...can't find the htc sync do this...! Lol!
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Again, rooting changes virtually nothing. It's what you do with the "superuser" abilities that makes your phone "fly". I mean, if you root your phone and don't make any changes, you're still running the same exact phone you were before you rooted, except for the ability to do a nandroid backup, and mess with your SD card.

    It's when you start removing apps, flashing ROM's and themes that will make your phone faster
     
  20. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    No offense, but if you are having this many problems, you didn't do your research. While I understand your frustration, you really need to read, read and keep reading.

    You say you need an easy tutorial that breaks it down from the very beginning...Have you read the tutorial I put together. It takes you Step by step by step through manual. And then at the end shows you how to use auto root. If you are not able to find htc sync on your SD card, there is something wrong.

    First off, do you have the stock SD card in it still? Did you format it at any point and erase all data? If so, you likely erased HTC Sync. Either way, you can download HTC Sync from here: (A Simple google Search for "HTC Sync for Sprint Hero" would have displayed this for you)

    HTC Mobile Phone Support - HTC Hero? (Sprint) - Downloads

    Once you have HTC Sync installed, continue to follow the tutorial. If you phone is not recognized, Read Step 5 of my tutorial again, and pay attention to the details in Red.

    Once you have either installed HTC Sync and/or PDAnet, continue with the manual method.

    I apologize if this comes off as harsh or mean, but as others have said, if you don't understand rooting, you can really mess up your phone. Read through the tutorial COMPLETELY, watch the youtube video. Good luck, and let us know if you have any more questions.
     
  21. SportsPT

    SportsPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    9
    +1
    If you have changed your SD Card or formatted it you will need to download HTC sync. I had the same error message until I realized I had forgotten to re-install HTC sync. After that the auto-root worked like a charm!
     
  22. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    +1000000

    rooting will NOT make your phone fly... installing a custom ROM like Fresh 1.1 or Modaco 2.2 (removing the Sprint apps you no longer want) and Gumbo's custom kernel will make it fly... but ya gotta be rooted to do any of that.. if finding HTC Sync on the SD card was hard.. then make triple sure you know what you're doing before rooting and ROMing.. or teh next posts from you will be "I broke my phone help me fix it" which the replies will be restore your backup or run RUU
     
  23. melynbeth

    melynbeth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    Alright! I get the point! I'm sorry!:) I am very obsessive and impulsive! I have been reading though and I realize that adding the Fresh Rom has made several rooter's phone the boost. I think I am going to hold off...for now...maybe! LOL! I already found and downloaded HTC sync without reading it here so I'm somewhat on my way. It's hard because if something is quirky it's not like there is someone right there you can ask. You gotta post and then hope someone knows and wait and it can be kind of nervewrecking.
    I REALLY appreciate all the feedback and I did not take offense to any of it. I will continue to read and hopefully can find someone around me that knows how to root! Again, thank you guys! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...