Turn off 3G but leave HSDPA on?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jollygoon

    jollygoon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    17
    The 3G service where I live is utterly sh*te but the HSDPA is pretty good so as per the question in the thread title is there any way to do this? I don't want to use 2G networks tho..

    Cheers, guys.

    edit: I meant to put this in the normal forum not the root sub-forum, sorry *grins sheepishly* Mods, if in your infinite.wisdom you so choose to move this then so be it. :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. Metusion

    Metusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think the device chooses the strongest signal so if HSDPA is available it will automatically connect to that instead of 3G.. Therefore I wouldn't see the reason to turn off 3G. If it doesn't connect to HSDPA means that it isn't available I guess
     
  3. jollygoon

    jollygoon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hmmm... thought that might be the case. It's weird though, when the phone has the 3g (UMTS) logo, it nearly never connects to anything but when it displays H it's really good. THat must be the networks' fault then.
     
  4. voodooochild

    voodooochild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    33
    correct you cant choose between 3G and HSDPA the phone automatically latches onto whatever is the strongest signal. and yes HSDPA is a faster connection, which will be why it is quicker than 3G
     
  5. crasymumma

    crasymumma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which network you on?

    If you are on Orange hit up the Orange networks forum as it is littered like a finished festival with posts about this issue. Something to do wit the T-Mobile merger and there servers falling over. The 3G is connecting but the servers can do no more than that. FAIL.

    Biggest bug bearer with this is ORANGE ARE NOT EXPLAINING. The best you get it yeap sorry the serverr is down. It will be up soon its a priority.

    The forum explains more. If you are not with Orange, are they a company merging with Orange??? laughs. but seriously if you are not with orange contact the network provider and ask. It probally is not the phone.
     
  6. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Just doing a bit of house cleaning. Don't mind me...
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  8. blonkster

    blonkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you please supply a link to the Orange forum, as I cannot find it on their support pages?
     

Share This Page

Loading...