Turn Off Automatic Restore Feature


Last Updated:

  1. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm posting this here because I feel my question will directly relate to custom ROMS:
    Every Rom I load (Skyraider Vanilla,ShadowRom, The NewGuy Etc.) starts restoring my phone. Usually as soon as it connects with google, it has an old wallpaper up and starting to pull apps. I know how to disable it (menu -> privacy), but my question two-fold:

    1. Do all roms have this feature built in?
    A. If so, is it hard to remove that feature.
    2. Assuming that above A. is difficult, how does one find the backup in google and clear it out so there is nothing to restore?

    I know I can't be the only one this bugs, and I'm fairly certain I am overlooking some very simple step in this whole process.

    I thank all for their upcoming help and suggestions
     

    Advertisement
  2. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    I believe it's part of GApps, which is required for market.
     
  3. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Fair enough. I'll buy that. But what about clearing out the data contained in the backup?
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    Maybe I'm not understanding exactly what you're referring to. When I install a new ROM and set up my google account, the only thing that auto restores are my contacts. Then when I open Market I get a bunch of download ques for the apps I've purchased, nothing installs by itself.

    Is this what you mean? Or are apps just.. There.. when you flash a new ROM? This could be caused by not wiping the data and cache partitions before flashing a new ROM.
     
  5. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    When I load a new ROM, after I sign into my Google account, and click finish from the initial setup, a very old background that I used to have is already up. I have to go to menu, privacy and turn off the auto backup and restore feature. It drives me nuts. It is auto enabled to restore.

    I do wipe the cache and data. Probably too much. I find myself wiping 2 or 3 times prior to actually flashing a rom.
     
  6. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    had the same problem

    its in the privacy menu somewhere in settings, cant find the thread where i asked the same question.
     
  7. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9

    Right! its in menu --> privacy. My point here is this: It appears to be auto selected in the Fresh, Brand New, just downloaded ROM.
    I know the work around is to not sign into your google account until you go and disable the setting. Which is a partial fix. I can do that (I am flashing a ROM right now) But, how can I clear what is in the google cloud that has this backup?
     
  8. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    no idea where the backups actually are. but heres what i do:

    flash a rom, sign into google and skip everything else, uncheck that ish before the syncing starts (alternative is to do it before you even sign in)

    if you think about it though, at one point you did check that. and flash a new ROM in the phones head is like you are turning it on for the first time. so when you dont click backup apps it wont do it, but keeps the auto restore as default in case you ever did. and since you did it at one point, it starts pulling automatically.

    i want to know how to clear that too though
     
  9. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    +1^ Just did that with the ultimate droid flash. I just have to change my install checklist (in my head) to not sign in until after I turn off the backups.
     
  10. pjgowtham

    pjgowtham New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enable backup serring in privacy menu

    The auto restore option will be unlocked

    And then untick both

    Then factory defaults
     

Share This Page

Loading...