1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Turn off data when roamingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    I'm going on holiday next month, and I dont want any nasty surprises when I see my bill due to background apps unknowingly using data when I'm abroad.

    Is deactivating "Data network mode" via the power button the one-stop be all and end all way to do this?

    Reason I ask is I seem to remember some settings in one or two apps (I cant remember which :confused:) to disable syncing/retreiving etc when roaming. Will I need to make sure these are also set? If so, can you point me in the right direction where these settings are, as I cant find them anywhere any more! :rolleyes:
     

    Advertisement
  2. planetf1

    planetf1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    You have a couple of options
    - If your provider offers any roaming data bundles at a good price, they're seriously worth considering (vodafone do
     
    mscactus, sam cheshire and Hawker like this.
  3. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,006
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Would... Settings > Wireless and network > Mobile networks > Data roaming (untick)... solve your problem?
     
  4. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    Seen that one, and I've never put it on.
    So with this unticked alone would this avoid any background tasks incurring charges abroad?
    How would this differ from the deactivating "data network mode"? I suppose doing this would prevent me from receiving MMS.
     
  5. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,006
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    It's the same as the feature in your Power Button mod.

    No MMS's I'm afraid. :(
     
    Hawker likes this.
  6. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    Cheers butty.
    But its not a power button mod. That option is standard. :)
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,006
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Sorry mate... it's so long since I used stock firmware (day 1 to be precise) that I've forgotten what it looks like. :confused:
     
  8. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    I'll forgive you if you buy me a pint! :)
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,006
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Anytime mate... would that be still, spring or sparkling? :D
     
  10. Hawker

    Hawker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    1,891
    Neither.
    Guinness please :D
     
  11. bungeebutt

    bungeebutt New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    out of curiosity, did unticking 'data roaming' in settings work for you? I only ask as I have it unticked and yet everytime i cross the border (i live in northern ireland but my parents live in southern ireland - i live close to the border) i get charged
     
  12. Gearu

    Gearu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    86
    Setting the phone to WCDMA only will make the phone only allow data when it's on 3G/H/H+

    Although I think this will give you less call/sms coverage as the more rural areas tend to rely on GSM, which is where Edge data downloads lurk. Using Australia for reference.
     

Share This Page

Loading...