turned off Sense UI, got a faster erisGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. blacklabel1783

    blacklabel1783 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    was debating of returning my eris b/c is was so laggy at some points. googled turning off sense ui. i tried it and i am getting a much better response from my phone now. even after a manual update of the OS, it was still laggy as before. if you don't mind not having sense, it is great. has anyone tried this? i haven't been running w/o sense for a while and about to go to bed, but i will try more apps tomorrow. don't know if this has been covered.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    129
    one of the main selling points to getting the eris over the droid is having the sense UI. if you don't want it, get a droid.
     
  3. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    ^The Moto Droid is a much larger form factor. There is no comparison in that regard.
     
  4. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    129
    nowhere in this thread is "form factor" being mentioned. so..........?
     
  5. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    The fact that I have to explain this is telling.

    You said:
    Another main selling point is form factor, therefore, telling someone to get a Moto Droid instead of the Eris based on your "main selling point" comment is ridiculous as there are clearly other reasons to own an Eris besides Sense UI.

    A little clearer for you now?
     
  6. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    how do you turn off the sense UI and can you turn it on or off
     
  7. 88rich88

    88rich88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to settings/applications/sense UI then clear defaults and force stop then hit the home button and choose Home when given the option.
    you can then set it as default if you want to. And yes you can turn it off or on.
     
  8. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    another question it is harmful to turn off the sense UI also i can switch back and will be settins be the same
     
  9. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is this more resource-effective than simply running the Home Switcher app to set the vanilla 1.5 as your default home? Even if your method squeezes more speed from the Eris, anyone considering this should download Home Switcher first because the vanilla 1.5 android is pretty blah, IMHO. Of course, your proprietary HTC apps are still working. People is still exactly the same and it runs in the background and gives you the same notifications.
     
  10. blacklabel1783

    blacklabel1783 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I had wanted a phone with a cramped dedicated kb and form factor that i hate, then I would have gotten a droid
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    im good on this, sense is worth the very nominal (and i have tried it) speed up that comes from not using it.
     
  12. Droid allready does sense UI. Eris is only a nock off of the hero lol, Dont get me wrong good little phone but not in droids league sorry.
     
  13. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    How does moto droid do sense ui?

    judging by your username, postcount, you may be just a t.....um.....well.....you know :)
     
  14. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    x2

    Droiddoessense + 1 post = Epic fail
     
  15. johnLEE

    johnLEE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    sense ui is a product of HTC!
     
  16. spartan141

    spartan141 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    61
    ehh i thought everyone got along on this forum;)
     
  17. onion

    onion Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it.

    I dont see any speed increase in menus, apps, ect.

    Going back to Sense UI.
     
  18. pdragon

    pdragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    19
    Be nice guys.

    You're right, though, Droid does not have the SenseUI. There are themes that can make any stock Android device very much like SenseUI, though.
     
  19. blacklabel1783

    blacklabel1783 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Haha. I thought the whole world got along. Peeps love to talk smack when they can't be touched.
     
  20. cevMkV

    cevMkV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    this may be a dumb question, but what does it look like when sense UI is turned off?
     
  21. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    it looks crappy.
     
  22. DroidDO

    DroidDO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    It looks pretty much exactly like the Droid....

    [​IMG] VS [​IMG]
     
  23. cevMkV

    cevMkV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    i kinda feel like that may be cool...
     
  24. alexhendershott

    alexhendershott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    I turned off Sense but I still had a black notification bar. How did you make yours white?
     
  25. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    14
    Since the Droid has been rooted, someone could install Eclair for Hero. I wonder how well that works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...