turning off 3gSupport


Last Updated:

  1. aderuk

    aderuk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    another noob question been looking through the phone menus for ages now and cant find how to turn off the 3g any help welcomed thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    The best free app to install for this is "QuickSettings"

    It will give you a notification area icon that you can slide down and click. When the app pops open you get access to all manner of handy settings quickly. 3g is umung these to turn off and on as you need. Works perfectly.
     
  3. Gurba

    Gurba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    13
    Or you can check out wireless settings in the menu. Choose GSM only.
     
  4. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    Agree with Frank, thats what I use too. I also use Juice Defender which also switches off your 3g/wifi etc automatically when phone screen is off (ie phone not in use) it leaves your 2g on so that you get your calls and texts etc. Helped with my battery usage altho not everyone is convinced by this.
     
  5. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    settings>wireless controls>mobile networks>network mode>gsm only

    Or download 2g/3g widget
     
  6. jeff84

    jeff84 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using a third party app is the only option us on the Rogers network have. The only settings we have are 3G only or a setting for 2G when 3G is not available
     
  7. tase25

    tase25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Download "Network" app from the store. It's free. This is the only way I know to change to GSM only and still get EDGE data with Rogers version.
     
  8. JDwan

    JDwan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    I tried this and while it worked fine, I decided that I preferred my previous way of just turning on MMS and 3G when I needed. HOWEVER, now that I've uninstalled Network, I no longer am able to access my data connection even after I change the settings under Mobile Networks. I am currently recharging my battery so I can do a Repair using PC Companion. *sigh*

    NOTE: The developer of the app makes a disclaimer saying that some users have reported this to happen to their phones.

    EDIT: Once I got my phone charged up passed 50%, I plugged it in to the computer to use PC Companion to repair the phone. I decided to check my data connection one last time before I repaired just in case I would have to reinstall my apps and lo and behold, it worked. So maybe there is some sort of timeout period or whatever after uninstalling that app? Anyway, my 3G/MMS is working again.
     
  9. tase25

    tase25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the heads up JDwan.

    I haven't encountered this problem yet, but definitely good to know.
     
  10. powerkiter

    powerkiter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    106

    I had a similar experiance with an APN switch app, the data was turned off and I uninstalled the app :eek:

    Took me a while to figure that one out when I done it :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...