turning off 3g


Last Updated:

  1. drawoh

    drawoh Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for asking this...but is there a way to turn off 3g or edge network for BH2? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. drawoh

    drawoh Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    nvm found apndroid :)
     
  3. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4
    Download an app called switchpan, it allows you to turn off 2g and 3G...

    I've found turning off the data on my phone helps the battery life alot. Unfortunately after you use wifi and then subsequently turn off your wifi your data gets turned back on until you reboot again.
     
  4. ibnturab

    ibnturab Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can do that. I have full access to the stock android settings [not touchwiz] by installing pandahome. It essentially takes you back to stock andriod everything. But the are several freeware programs in the market.
     
  5. mindoculus

    mindoculus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I assume there is no way to access the store without a data plan, correct ?
     
  6. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    Pretty much. I've noticed that even with WiFi enabled and connected, once I open Marketplace, the 3G icon comes back (along side the WiFi icon)
     
  7. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I use a 2g/3g widget that allows you to access a settings page to force 2G.
     
  8. mindoculus

    mindoculus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    but i assume that widget can only be had through the marketplace. hence, the dilemma. i just hopes its free, whatever its called, because at least i have the option of paying for data month to month, thanks to t-mobile. so i may just jump on for a single month (60.00), load all the apps i need, and see how long i can survive until i need to pay for data again.
     
  9. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you previously had a T-Mo phone, then your existing data plan should work.

    I just tossed my old (5 year, been through two phones) SIM card into the Behold 2, and I was online.


    Now, if you didn't already have a data plan...
     
  10. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
  11. mindoculus

    mindoculus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks.

    Yes, I did not have a previous data plan.

    Do I simply download this app via USB ? and then drop it into a particular
    folder ? Is it really that simple !?!?!
     

Share This Page

Loading...