turning off appsGeneral

Last Updated:

1. jdailey1981

jdailey1981 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to eris and just wondering if the was a way to turn off apps I never use? I got a task killer but 10 minutes later, I got apps running I never opened killing battery life

Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

What are you trying to turn off or shut down?

Most of the apps that you didn't open aren't really using up your memory or killing your battery life. If you are constantly trying to kill these apps, that is what might be killing your battery life.

I would need to know which apps your are trying to stop though to really answer the question.

3. moutaindewdope

moutaindewdope Well-Known Member

you shouldn't need to kill apps to save battery life (check out OTD's sig link), Whats killing ur battery life are apps not playing nice and letting the phone sleep.

I used to have an 8 hr charge problem, there are a few things todo to change this.

turn off Bluetooth and GPS when not using those servces, Beautiful Widgets has a nice set of buttons todo this quickly with one click.

Under settings > Wireless Controls > Mobile Network settings > Disable Always on Mobile network. This will give you ur Gmaul syncs and background data transfer, but turn it back off when ur done

Disable Auto backlight, and set a comfortable brightness.

Most Inportantly, disable the stock messaging apps notifications. Then DL Handcent or ChompSMS. There is a bug in the notifications program of Native SMS.