Turning off OTA on a rooted droid


Last Updated:

  1. Curt941

    Curt941 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    My wife's droid is rooted running buggless beast. She's constantly getting prompted to update to 2.2 OTA. One time she hit ok and it restarted the phone and kicked back to a boot screen with the Little Android guy saying that the operation couldn't be completed or something like that and I rebooted the phone with the camera button (that was one of the options).

    So, any way to get this recurring message to go away?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    because she is rooted, and because she has a backup rom made, the OTA fails. that is good as you don't want the update to take. when you reboot after that failed OTA, you should boot fine, yes? you will continue to get the OTA until you address it.

    your answer is in this thread
     
  3. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Im assuming you are still running Bugless Beast v0.4.

    If so, download this: Peter Alfonso

    This will resolve your issue :)
     
  4. Curt941

    Curt941 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks Man!
     
  5. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    That what it was?? Also, try his v0.5 Its got the latest build and i personally preferred it over v0.4
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    if you dont use BB, you will still get the OTA update notice. so, that is why the option I linked to might be best. it covers you either way.
     
  7. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    The thread link you posted is referring to the BB STOPOTA.zip that i linked the OP. Its designed for Bugless Beast.
     
  8. Curt941

    Curt941 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    Where can I get the v0.5?

    I just put it on the root of her SD as update.zip and load it the way I loaded v0.4 right? (It's been a few months so I don't remember all the technical terms)

    Will my wife lose her text messages and all her settings if I do that? Do I need to wipe her droid first, or can I simply load on the new v0.5 rom?
     
  9. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Exactly. Follow this link Peter Alfonso

    Please read the post entirely before starting and you will have no issues.

    Since you have BBv0.4, you can load v0.5 right over it. No wipe needed.

    Let me know if you have any issues.
     
  10. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    partially true..

    see post #14 for the "manual" method - that was my fix to recommend to the OP

    but then later Bartl3by turned Pete's FRG01B (StopOTA.zip - what your referring to) method into a patch for the more current FRG22D since his was based on FRG01B.

    that is also in that thread and that thread starts by mentioning the original StopOTA.zip by Pete fails to last because it was based on FRG01B and so with Bartl3by making it work with FRG22D - or using the manual method, your set no matter what and do not need a patch if use the manual.

    both can work..

    either way, I am saying if you dont have BB - and come across this thread - or do have BB - and come across this thread - the manual method should work. which is why I said, either way, with the manual method, your GTG.
     
    Jedii likes this.
  11. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    True. Good post. :)
     
  12. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    FWIW to the OP, if there has ever been anything that Pete consistently seems to say in blogs, his site, his threads, it is wiping data and cache. In that very thread, in red, he even says "You must wipe data and cache".. so in that .5 he is even more empathic about wiping data and cache since .5 works a bit different than .4.

    this wipe is one of the things I fear most about changing ROMs and so I have only stuck with Pete's, but then when he posted that so clearly, I kind of shied away ;) as he is so emphatic that it must be done whereas in the past, it was recommended, now it is like "you MUST".. eek
     
  13. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Yes. He is right about this ^^ I was talking to Pete as we were discussing this thread. Its my bad. I was thinking i had v.04 prior to v0.5. But i had been beta testing several versions of v0.5, which of course didnt require me to wipe. My mistake.
     
  14. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    This was a complete mistake on my part. I was pre-occupied at work and dealing with a few posts at once. i was distracted and posted quickly without reading everything. My sincere apologies to the OP.

    and lock n load. I appreciate your help with this thread. You prevented this from being a flame thread. Thanks :)
     
  15. Curt941

    Curt941 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    19
    Okay, thanks for the input guys. Before I do this though, do you have a preferred method for saving text messages before I wipe everything? I don't mind reinstalling apps (even thought I noticed he has an auto-restore function built in) but I don't want my wife to lose all her text messages.
     
  16. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I use MyBackup Pro to save phone data, settings, calendar, sms/mms, etc. I also use TitaniumBU, but I find for data and sms/mms restore, I really love MyBackup Pro and for apps, I like TitaniumBU
     
  17. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    no problem.. having been through some of these before, and seeing the OP was not 100% for sure, I knew we had to be precise here
     

Share This Page

Loading...