1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[TUT] Installing CWM Recovery (v5.0.2.6) & RZRecovery (v2.1.4)


Last Updated:

  1. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    All thanks to PlayfulGod who has made this possible.

    Most preferred method:
    Download this zip:
    Flashable zip
    Steps:
    1.) Put the zip in your SDCard.
    2.) Reboot into current recovery.
    3.) Flash the zip.
    4.) Reboot recovery!

    Done :D :D


    Method 2:
    Downloads:

    1.) Grab this: CWM-A70
    2.) Then this: Recovery.img

    Steps:
    1.) Extract the zip file to a folder of your choice.
    2.) Rename the downloaded recovery to "recovery5.img" (or whatever you like)
    3.) Turn off your mobile.
    4.) WHILE HOLDING THE CAMERA BUTTON, Connect the usb cable to the phone (and PC too :p).
    5.) Open cmd prompt and cd to the directory of your extracted folder.
    Example:
    If have extracted to D:\CWM-A70, then use:
    Code (Text):
    1. D:
    2. cd D:\CWM-A70
    6.) type:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot-windows flash recovery recovery5.img
    7.) type:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot-windows reboot
    8.) Done. Check the new recovery or post here for problems :)


    Alternative Method:
    (Using ADB, not fastboot. All thanks to sam. Tested by aditya)

    Latest RZRecovery:

    Hey guys, here's the latest RZRecovery for A70:
    Huge thanx to Raidzero (aka RZ :p ) for his efforts..

    The old RZRecovery didn't have working backups, this one works perfectly! (Observed till now.)

    Methods:
    1.) Using CWM recovery:
    Download this zip: RZRecovery
    And flash using CWM :)

    2.) Using the fastboot method:
    Extract the RZR.img from the zip and flash using fastboot (as specified above).

    P.S. Unlike in CWM, buttons for RZ are:
    Home (center button) for selection.
    Power for back.
    And volume keys for navigation.
     

    Advertisement
    vijay4b7 and adityadeva like this.
  2. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645

    What's new in this recovery?
     
  3. samrox144

    samrox144 Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    274
    cwm 5.0 takes better backup and is much faster to...and i think it also shows progress bar...
     
  4. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    Font has been changed to blue :p
    Nothing more that I know, I just like to keep myself updated :cool:

    Rest: ClockworkMod
     
  5. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    410
    Why on clockworkmod it's shows still 4.0.1.5?latest rom manager also installs 4.0.1.5 only.is this a custom recovery made by playfulgod?
     
  6. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    The CWM recovery will show 5.0.2.3 after this.
    And yeah, it's by PlayfulGod but it's not updated in ROM Manager somehow :(
     
  7. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    410
    Ya ofcourse CMW will show 5.0.2.3,i was asking that why clockworkmod website shows like that n also rom manager.i got the answer that they have not updated yet.
     
  8. adityadeva

    adityadeva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    32
    In CWM 5.0.2.0 onwards you donot need to put the rom in sdcard (yes that was a drawback of CWM) so people with big built in flash like SGII who never used sdcard could not do a rom boot from cwm <5.x

    ofcourse it may be faster.

    But I want to compile a cwm for myself how come this playfulgod does it.
     
  9. adityadeva

    adityadeva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    32
    playfulgod need to tell it to koushik. he updates rom manger to include the new CMW builds.
     
  10. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    410
    So what u say?should i go for it?i also like to be updated.
     
  11. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    No harm, only positive things.
     
  12. adityadeva

    adityadeva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    32

    Just go for it doc. And pls test &tell whether you can use the option USB mount in the new recovery v 5.x

    In 4.x we can't do it. A lun error comes , at least for me. I've tried all sorts of partitioning.
     
  13. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645

    Yes. I also get that error.
     
  14. samrox144

    samrox144 Disabled

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    274
    I get this error when I flash builds which end up in recovery or black screen ..I just use adb to issue the cmd reboot recovery the everything works ..if I remove battery then same error
     
  15. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    4,938
    Thats like pulling teeth lol. I have updated most of the CWM I have ported. But its up to koush to update em after he officially builds n merges em with RM.
     
    ninadchaudhari and adityadeva like this.
  16. adityadeva

    adityadeva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    32
    let me thank you in advance for all the goodies you've provided to us so far.

    and wish you a very happy christmas and holiday in advance.

    But pls tell us how you build this recovery.
     
  17. mastermind1024

    mastermind1024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    410
    Ya same error for me too on 4.0.1.5,will flash 5.x n let u know.
     
  18. varun.chitre15

    varun.chitre15 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    645
  19. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    Same lun error.
     
  20. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
  21. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
  22. songoku

    songoku Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Going to try this now... :)
     
  23. cool.gautam

    cool.gautam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    147
  24. Nirvana1000

    Nirvana1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    What version is in Kitchen Pro? It is not shown.
     
  25. akshaybz

    akshaybz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    78
    What's kitchen pro?
    I hope you're talking abt A70.
     

Share This Page

Loading...