Two Google Seaerch Widgets in Froyo????


Last Updated:

  1. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm rooted, and running Pete's virgin deodexd Froyo 2.2. I noticed yesterday that when I went to place the google search widget on my home screen that there are 2. The new one, which is listed as google serch, and then some ghost of the old one listed as search. Placing the old one on the homescreen works, and u can even type something in and search for it, but after it lists the results and you go back to the homescreen the widget is stuck there and there is no way to remove it. You can't long press it or type in it. The home screen basically acts like the widget is not there. Any one know how to uninstall the old search widget?? Thanks!

    Edit: I'm sorry, I'm not sure why this didn't post in the all things root forum. Can one of the mods move it for me?
     

    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I'm not exactly sure why you can not remove the search widget. I just did exactly what you said (put it on my homescreen...searched something with it...and went back to the home screen) and it is working fine. I was able to remove it without issue but I am running a different ROM (BB 0.4).

    Did you try rebooting? I've had an issue before with 1 or 2 froyo ROMs where the top portion of the screen was not very responsive and trying to long press to add a widget took a little effort...but never anything I couldn't get after a few tries.
     
  3. skryer

    skryer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    I noticed that happen as well, the widget actually returns to the original place you had it but just doesn't display it doing so, try long pressing on where you normally have it set to and see if that works.
     
  4. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    35
    This worked, thanks! I really would like to uninstall the second widget (search) altogether. Does anyone know how to uninstall it?
     
  5. binglejellsx2

    binglejellsx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    I noticed the extra Search widget in my Sapphire ROM too. I just went into \system\app\ and renamed QuickSearchBox.apk to QuickSearchBox.apk.bak. I also deleted all the data associated with that apk from the Manage Applications tool.

    I wasn't sure if it was really needed, so I can re-enable it if my device starts acting up. If enough time goes by and everything is ok, I'm going to delete it because I already got a warning that my System Storage was low on space.

    Edit: I didn't have this Search widget in the unmodified leaks of FroYo, so I assume it's ok to leave it out.
     
  6. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    35
    I dont have the quicksearchbox.apk file anywhere!
     
  7. binglejellsx2

    binglejellsx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry, I just realized that we may be both talking about different things.

    Sapphire actually includes an additional widget that looks similar to the stock search widget but replaces the "G" icon with a magnifying glass. I felt it didn't match the rest of the system and got rid of it.
     
  8. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    130
    In Android 2.1 the search "widget" wasn't actually a widget and was built into the home app (And put into the Widget menu artificially). In Android 2.2 an actual search widget was added.

    Perhaps you are using an alternative Launcher that still includes the fake widget?
     
  9. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    35
    Lol Kevin I was just coming to post that I had discovered it was a part of launcherpro! Do you know if there is a way to remove the fake widget? Its really not a big deal but now I'm curious.
     

Share This Page

Loading...