Typing over 160 characters in a textGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    Whenever I text using over 160 characters, to a non-Verizon customer, it just cuts it off. How do I get it to make it is multiple 160 character messages?
     

    Advertisement
  2. esn

    esn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Use mms it is unlimited text.
     
  3. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    use handcent ... it automatically splits your text in to individual 160 character texts
     
  4. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    How?
    I still get the VZW 160+ error in handcent.
     
  5. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    20
    There's an option to split long messages in handcent, it was off by default for me.
     
  6. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    Thanks, mj_b90 and everyone else.

    ~Solved~
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    handcent is the bees knees
     
  8. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    MMS text isn't unlimited--I believe its capacity is 1000 characters for 7-bit
     
  9. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    I am starting to like handcent better than the HTC messaging client.
     
  10. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've just started using handcent too, and I like all the options it gives. Does it seem a bit jittery to anyone else though? It seems like there's lag in bringing up my inbox and again when sending a message. I never noticed these issues with the default messaging.
     
  11. Ruben

    Ruben Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    349
    It's less laggy than the HTC messaging app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...