Uh Oh! What went wrong? How to fix it?


Last Updated:

  1. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, I tried to install bb 1.3 on my phone. I ran it and when it booted up, the droid logo flashed once, but then my phone got stuck. I tried it a few times, same deal. Tried loading back to the cynagoen i was using before but it looks like even thats not working. What should I do from here? Data wipe? Then re-root? or am I missing something?


    Okay, well I managed to restore my phone to an older date. So I'm still rooted, but now I'm back on droid mod (ugh). Why wouldnt the bb 1.3ghz load? too much too soon? I'm going to try a lower version maybe.. Kinda freaked out when my phone wasnt starting back up lolhttp://androidforums.com/editpost.php?do=editpost&p=824666
     

    Advertisement
  2. EAK128

    EAK128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    10
    yeah definitely try a lower kernel. 1.1 or 1.0.
     
  3. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried 1.1 same deal. So now I'm going to try 800.. After that I'm not sure lol. maybe use a different rom entirely. I was using cynoagen 5.062, anyone got any suggestions?
     
  4. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    I've never been able to run any Bekit LV kernels above 1.0Ghz on my phone. Each time I attempted to load something higher I got stuck on the "M" while booting. But with P3Droid kernels I've been able to run up to 1.2Ghz. I know "technically" they're not approved kernels for BB, so you might want to try NexBeast V1.1. It's based upon Pete's BB V1.1 but it plays nice with P3Droid kernels.

    P3Droid Kernels
     
  5. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm I may try that. Right now though I'm putting cyanogen 5.0.7 on there.. I don't really need it overclocked I suppose but once you go root.. :)
     
  6. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    Every droid really is different when it comes to kernels, because i am using a bekit 1.1 lv kernel just fine.
     
  7. snake_fist_gung_fu

    snake_fist_gung_fu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    25
    I cant go over 1.2 on Bekit but I had mine at 1.3 on other kernels. Just the nature of the beast. IMO Chevys runs the best on my Droid but now BB or NB do not recommend using them so I dont.
     
  8. s1ckGhost

    s1ckGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    14
    I dont know whose side to take on this one.. every Kernel ive ran on my droid has worked great. Currently im trying 1.1ghz by Bekit and its working great.. im not too sure on how to really compare the three (chevy, p3, or bekit).. is there something I can do to compare?

    Battery Life? or what.
     
  9. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    You could try each kernel and post your findings, but even that might be different than someone else's findings. Like I said, I've never been able to run Bekit kernels above 1.0Ghz - can't even load them. Others have no issues with them. I know of someone who can't run ANY low voltage kernel. The "which kernel is best" question is similar to the "which ROM is best" question. Ask 10 people and you'll get 10 differnet answers. I'd say just find what works for YOUR phone. Personally I use P3Droid kernels because they run cooler than Bekit on my phone and I get slightly better battery life.
     
  10. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well the good thing is I got my phone back up and running on cyanogen, (after having it once droidmod just is lacking!) Now, I'm a person who likes to tinker and figure things out that don't work. Why won't any of these roms I'm trying install? Everyone loads into the moto logo and then hangs up. I've tried all the way from 1.3 to 1.1. I got tired of having to keep on restoring my phone so I gave up last night.. But It'd still like to try BB.What's the default rom at? I think it's 600 or so?

    I'm using clockworkrecovery, I don't need to rename the files or anything do I?
    Just wondering why it won't work is all.. I'm sure it's operator error here, lol.
     
  11. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You sure your choosing the right .zip with clockwork? Also be sure to go into the partitions menu and wipe boot, data, system, and cache 3 times each. Boot only needs to be done when your installing a new kernel.

    Also some Droid's have trouble running at 1.3Ghz so start off with something low like 8 or 900mhz and work your way up from there.
     
  12. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not quite sure what you mean here. Are you saying only certain files are compatible with clockwork? And do the wiping stuff 3 times before I try to load the new rom?
     
  13. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    By the by, I tried loading the 800 version and still same thing.. Looks like my phone doesn't like bugless beast.. can someone offer up a different rom that comes overclocked already for me to try?
     

Share This Page

Loading...