UK Xperia Z1 on USA Networks?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Slickyy

    Slickyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can I put a Xperia Z1 from the UK on any USA Carrier.

    The Xperia Z1 was with O2 and it is locked.

    Anyway to put it on a US Carrier such as AT&T and T-Mobile?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    10,393
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    Probably, but you'd have to get it unlocked first. Since it was with O2, they won't give you the unlock code, so you'll have to shop around eBay for unlock codes.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,358
    Likes Received:
    21,117
    Networks over here are legally obliged to give you an unlock code if you own the phone outright, or are 3 months in to your contract.

    They do charge an arm and a leg though, so eBay is definitely a better option. I paid
     
  4. Slickyy

    Slickyy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,358
    Likes Received:
    21,117
    Depends on what bands they use, but in theory, yes. I'll double check when I can get to a PC.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,358
    Likes Received:
    21,117
    AT&T - 850, 1900 MHz (2G/3G), 700, 1700, 2100, 1900, 2300 MHz (LTE)
    TMobile - 850, 1900 MHz (2G/3G), 700, 1700, 2100, 1900 (LTE)
    Z1 - 800 / 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 (LTE), 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 (2G/3G).

    It's not as simple as that, but there is a lot of crossover there so it should work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...